Perplexed

Ronnied

Reaction score
Ok here goes. As stated before I am a basic mechanic. I have the tools and the knowledge to do most repairs. With that being said most vehicles I've done have been relatively stock. Here is where I am.
96 Explorer 302, early gt engine. Stock bottom with E303 cam. Stock heads with Comp cam springs, 1.6 int, 1.7 exh Performance roller rockers, new roller lifters, BBK 70mm tb. It sounds like I have a collapsed lifter, they were soaked 4 days prior to install. High volume oil pump as well. I belive the original stamped steel rockers are 1.7 but probably wrong. Anyone think I may have a pushrod length issue? Please , I'm not looking for sarcasm, I'm married so I have that plentiful...I just need some advice. I'm not smart enuff when It comes to pushrod measurement but I can learn. Thanks in advance.

RAU03MACH

Legend
Reaction score
The stock pushrod length for a roller cam 5.0 is 6.250(per the Comp Cams website)

lwarrior1016

Mr. Secondary Timing Chain
Staff
Reaction score
Ok here goes. As stated before I am a basic mechanic. I have the tools and the knowledge to do most repairs. With that being said most vehicles I've done have been relatively stock. Here is where I am.
96 Explorer 302, early gt engine. Stock bottom with E303 cam. Stock heads with Comp cam springs, 1.6 int, 1.7 exh Performance roller rockers, new roller lifters, BBK 70mm tb. It sounds like I have a collapsed lifter, they were soaked 4 days prior to install. High volume oil pump as well. I belive the original stamped steel rockers are 1.7 but probably wrong. Anyone think I may have a pushrod length issue? Please , I'm not looking for sarcasm, I'm married so I have that plentiful...I just need some advice. I'm not smart enuff when It comes to pushrod measurement but I can learn. Thanks in advance.