Running rich, need help

Discussion in '96-04 - 2V Specific' started by MrPool, Jun 29, 2016.

  1. MrPool

    MrPool New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Hey guys,

    So my recently acquisition of my '97 Mustang has lead to the inevitability that I must now get it smogged in order to complete registration (as the guy who sold it to me has literally just barely been over 90 days since he last had it smogged...), so I'm gonna need to get it smogged.
    Problem is, with it running as rich as it tends to run, I doubt it would make it far in terms of emissions. I'm pretty sure any smog tech would probably rip me apart if I brought that thing in as it is.

    It's got a tuner chip in the center console, so I'm pretty sure that's what's screwing with the emissions (and triggering a check engine light to boot), but I'm not sure how to remove it.

    Anyone have any tips as to what I should do? Registration is due really soon on this thing and I need to get it smogged and cleared up ASAP.
     
  2. 07GtS197

    07GtS197 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Location:
    Naples, Fl
    First and foremost you need to get the codes read to see whats going on with it. It could be the chip or it could be one of the o2 sensors failing etc. what kind of chip are you referring to, like an sct 4 bank or a tune from something like a predator or x3/x4?
     
  3. MrPool

    MrPool New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    It's a 4 bank tuner. I'm not sure the brand, as it came that way and I've never dealt with tuners before. I imagine the code is being thrown by the tuner because when I use a scan tool it won't give me anything.
     
  4. 07GtS197

    07GtS197 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Location:
    Naples, Fl
    Can you post a pic of it. Sounds like its an sct 4 bank chip. If thats the case, its not tune related because the chip needs to be plugged in to run the tune. When you run codes nothing at all comes up?
     
  5. MrPool

    MrPool New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    [​IMG]
    Here's the chip. I'm not sure how it was even wired in but it looks like it was done through the dash directly to my computer, but I don't know which cable to check first.
    Any ideas? [​IMG]
     
  6. Frank.JD.Perez

    Frank.JD.Perez Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Pleasanton/Hayward, CA
    the hell is that thing? it looks like it fits in a giant clock for ants
     
  7. MrPool

    MrPool New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    I honestly have no idea, and haven't had the slightest clue since I bought the thing...All I can figure is what the guy said when I bought it, and how he was using it when he was demonstrating it to me.
    It looks like a cheaply put in tuner to the best I can figure, but honestly I just want the damn thing gone. It's interfering with my computer's codes and throwing a P1000 at me every time i start up.

    The light goes off if I run it long enough or if I put the tuner on the right setting, but until that thing is gone I have no idea what's really throwing that code.
     
  8. Frank.JD.Perez

    Frank.JD.Perez Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Pleasanton/Hayward, CA
    im guessing the guy who put it in didnt watch this...


    [video=youtube;VGtImIP6j3A]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGtImIP6j3A[/video]
     
  9. MrPool

    MrPool New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Yeah...I honestly have no idea why anyone uses those things at all. I'd just cut the wires and end it myself but I don't wanna do anything stupid.
    Frankly the whole thing is pissing me off, and I still need that smog cert, due to the ridiculous California state regulations on this crap.
     
  10. Frank.JD.Perez

    Frank.JD.Perez Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Pleasanton/Hayward, CA
    Lol, you live in cali. I share your struggle
     
  11. 07GtS197

    07GtS197 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Location:
    Naples, Fl
    Since it isnt a flash tuner you should be able to cut the wires. It didnt flash a tune on the ecu, its on the chip and gets loaded when you turn the car on.

    Edit: After googling that 6601 part number it looks like its an sct part number for the switch for a 4 bank eliminator chip so cutting it will just disable the switch. Youre going to have to trace the wires back to the source, where the chip is, and remove it. Or youll have to play with the switch to see which setting is the stock tune.
     
  12. MrPool

    MrPool New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    That's what I was kind of afraid of...I'm gonna end up having to practically rip the dash and console trim out completely in order to trace that wire. Assuming, of course, the chip itself is anywhere near my computer...Which if it is I have yet to find it.
     
  13. 07GtS197

    07GtS197 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Location:
    Naples, Fl
    I thought the eliminator chip plugged directly into the ecu but Im not sure. You could get into the pass or drivers side footwell and look from one side to the other behind the radio. That way you dont have to take the dash apart.

    And by the way the ecu is behind the passenger side kick panel if you didnt already know.
     
  14. MrPool

    MrPool New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    [​IMG]
    After having a bit of trouble fishing the wire out from behind the footwell (it was tucked in there pretty deep), I think I've managed to trace it back to the ecu.
    Next step is likely going to be removing the ecu altogether to unplug the chip, as it seems to be wedged up there pretty far.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. g36 monkey

    g36 monkey Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    14,057
    Likes Received:
    539
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    Glad you've found it! I don't necessarily think the chip is your issue, however it might not be a bad place to start.
     
  16. MrPool

    MrPool New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    What would you suggest if the chip turns out to not be the issue?
    The only code I can really get from a scantool as to why a check engine light would trip is a PO117, and I'm likely to just replace my coolant temp sensor altogether for that.
    The smog guy I talked to was going on about my intake and how that might affect it as well, so I might have to change that out too (It's a BBK #21514).

    Seems like the more I discover here the happier I am I didn't pay the guy I bought the mustang from what he was asking.
     
  17. 07GtS197

    07GtS197 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Location:
    Naples, Fl
    That might be your problem. The coolant temp sensor is vital in determining afr. Since its cheap Id swap that out and reset the ecu.