rwhp question and taking suggestions

96GTGREENVERT

Reaction score
I am new to the game of NPI modification. I had an 02GT but I found a 96 GT convertible with 50000ish miles and I had to have it. Anyhow I was wondering with a bone stock 96GT automatic what kind of RWHP numbers would I really see with a KB 2.1 SC kit? Their website says at 9psi +151HP. I was thinking about that kit but will the stock bottom end handle it with no problems? It appears this car has been well taken care of and doesnt appear to have any problems. Just curious if anyone has a little info. I was also considering a full PI swap with Stage 2 heads and a little hotter cam package. Which would be the best bet. This car is a daily driver I dont intend to race at a track or anything I just love Mustangs and want some more go to go with the sheer beauty of this 96GT convertible. Thanks in advance for anyone that responds. ;)

MustangMatt96GT

Reaction score
The KB will give you more power and have better street manners than a cam'd and staged up heads! both will be around the same price though! Also the KB will give you much more power!!

68mustang5.0

Reaction score
You can go with the KB 2.1 if its just going to be a daily driver. With the stock bottom end you should keep the HP just under 410 or so. If you wanna go nuts and do the full monty then go with the 2.8 liter unit, forged internals, VT engines stage II blower cams and Stage II ported heads and some headers, you should make 500 RWHP if not more.

Hell, just go twin turbos ;D ;D :naughty: :naughty:

nesqwick_05

Reaction score
MustangMatt96GT said:
The KB will give you more power and have better street manners than a cam'd and staged up heads! both will be around the same price though! Also the KB will give you much more power!!