sound system question

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by silverstang1996, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. silverstang1996

    silverstang1996 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    alright well last night i was driving down the road and i switched to the next song on my CD and for some reason both my sub woofers just cut out. when i got home i checked all the connections but two (the end of the ground wire and the REM wire hooked up to the head unit) i didn't want to rip it apart cause it was done professionally but i did disconnect/hook back up the wires i could and still they are not working, any ideas on what may be wrong?
    thanks
     
  2. scarface

    scarface Guest

    DIdnt you already post this somewhere else? :dunno:

    *Check the fuse under the hood.
    *Check you ground wire on both ends to make sure it is still connected.
    *Check a fuse on the amp
    *Check the fuse on the back of the head unit.

    Report back and we will get the the bottom of this. :banana:
     
  3. TxCobrA98

    TxCobrA98 Legend

    Messages:
    7,976
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    yeah, probably a blown fuse on your amp. or your amp got to hot and shut off. mine used to do both of those.
     
  4. ck5.0

    ck5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    SilverStang did you figure it out. First thought is to check the fuse on the power wire. Next the ground wire and then the remote.
     
  5. AaRoN

    AaRoN King Post Whore

    Messages:
    33,966
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, United States
    also make sure you have a good battery connection (power & ground). i had this problem just recently.
     
  6. mrdeep2001

    mrdeep2001 Member

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Is the amp on? If you are getting power to the amp, you can use a jumper wire to jump power from the power terminal on the amp to the remote line which comes from the headunit. If it starts to work after that, then you have a problem with the remote turn on from the headunit, the wire probably got broken/disconnected.
     
  7. 98FORDMUSTANGGT

    98FORDMUSTANGGT New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    is the amp going into protect mode? and dose your deck have sub outputs and if so are they up or down