srt4 or cobalt ss

punched281

Reaction score
I am thinking about getting a little four cylinder for a dd car. I want something still somewhat fun to run around in. I am trying to keep in under 9k. I don't really want car payments but I need a car that gets me to work even if it is bad road conditions. I have a crown vic for a dd but I haven't been able to drive it the last couple of weeks from weather.

I am thinking about a cobalt ss, srt4 and keeping the vic and picking up an older pathfinder or 4runner for snow days. What do you guys think?

Evo's are out so don't mention them, they are way too much. And I am not getting a subaru either.

Witzy0070

Reaction score
These are pretty much the bane of all V8 cars. Hated probably more than condoms themselves.

However, I have some experience with both cars. And I will first add that they are cheap platforms that they added power to. Granted the drive train is quite different they were still cheap cars from the start. That being said, the SRT-4 is a car that can be made very fast for just a few grand, the SS comes in two flavors, super or turbocharged. The turbo is faster if that's important to you. Personally, I'd take the SRT since it's quicker (erection) and it cost very little for me to insure. However, from when I was looking it seemed that there were far more unmolested SS cars out there versus SRT cars. For reliability probably an SS?

I don't know, I hate them both and kind of want one.

mcglsr2

SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
I guess it depends on what you are looking for.

SRT-4: Certainly more juvenile than the Cobalt. Probably easier to make it go faster, since that's kind of the point of the car. Plus it's a 4-door.