Starter went?

Blau

Reaction score
Ever since I accidentally let my battery drain out, what I assume is my starter has been making a knocking-type noise upon startup. Last night she wouldn't start - there was a noise like a bicycle wheel going round very fast with a card in the spoke (coming from the starter, again). The noise is comparatively quiet compared to how loud the starter was. I'm guessing the thing finally kicked it. But I have no experience with starters, and wanted to get some confirmation on that fact before I stop by NAPA. Anyone have any info they can share? Thanks a million!

Wild Horses

Reaction score
Sounds like the centrifugal spring that engages the flywheel isn't fully connecting. I'd check ALL grounds make sure you have good ground. Double check your batt charge. Hook it up to the charger on start setting and maybe try it. Make sure connections on batt are nice and tight. If nothing.... The starters are 2 bolts holding it on and 2 electrical connections. Very easy to swap out. I'm assuming this is the 5.0 car in your sig? I'd pick one up, try it out if it doesn't fix the problem Napa will take them back if you tell them it's the wrong one and your mechanic picked you up another. I don't remember them being too costly. best thing about the 5.0 pushrod motor is parts are dirt cheap. I miss that.

CC'S95GT

Post Whore
Reaction score
Over time starters will get excess carbon build up inside. Sometimes you can use a bat to gently hit it to knock the carbon lose to get another week or so out of it.
I've also had good luck disassembling them and cleaning all the crud out and regreasing the bearings.

Wild Horses

Reaction score
^^^^ THAT TOO. Give it a few persuasive knocks with a dead blow hammer or the butt of a regular hammer.

OP
OP
Blau

Blau

Reaction score