Steering Shaft Firewall Bearing Replacement

Rich

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've got an issue with my firewall bearing for the steering shaft of my Mustang.
I threw it out... :-(

So I torn down my 2004 Mustang GT Convertible at the beginning of the year to replace/install new and upgraded parts I've been collecting for a couple years now. It has been my year-long COVID project, thanks to our fearless leader and Authoritarian Governor, Mr. Gavin Newsom, locking everyone down in California.

I did not realize how difficult it was to find replacement parts for this car. Thankfully I have been able to get by with almost everything I've either taken apart or broken EXCEPT the steering shaft firewall bearing. Every Ford dealer I've contacted online has told me it is either discontinued or on indefinite back order, which is weird because it supposedly fits models all models up to the 2017 GT500. I was following a thread from this forum regarding the bearing here: "https://www.sn95forums.com/threads/another-sloppy-steering-fix.73076/" and with the part number I didn't think I'd have any issues. But I've just struck out every which way the last few weeks and now I'm at a loss. Any thoughts on how I can remedy this issue?

I'll try an online pick & pull if I have to, but I was hoping to find something new. But at this point, old is better than nonexistent.

white95

Apex Junky
Admin
Reaction score
So, when I bought mine in the spring my local dealer told me there were three on the shelf in the nation. Perhaps your dealer could check their network and give you a lead on who to call. If that doesn’t work, I’ll get with my local guy who did that for me.

OP
OP
R

Rich

Reaction score
Hey white95,