stereo making loud pop when starting car

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by piester, Apr 22, 2014.

  1. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    94 mustang gt with the mach 460 in it. clarion head unit, kicker 600.1 amp with l7 10. if the head unit is on i hear a really loud pop noise coming from the speakers when i turn the key to the start position. not sure if its just the sub or all the speakers but ill find that out at some point today. at first i thought it was a bad ground because i would get alternator whine in the speakers at idle and just above. but i cleaned the battery to chassis ground and that went away. plans are to clean all the grounds i can get to and make sure all connections are solid. also going to see how the PO had the system wired in as far as how it turns the amps on (either HU powered or ignition on powered if that makes sense) any other suggestions?
     
  2. Addermk2

    Addermk2 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,505
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Remote wire for your amp is likely wired wrong. Disconnect it from the sub amp and see if you still have the pop.
     
  3. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    thats kind of what i was thinking. ill have to see if its hooked to the right wire.
     
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,496
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    the stock stereos remote turn on uses a 6v system, where your aftermarket deck uses a 12v. Cut the remote wire and insert a 1.5k ohm resistor on the wire going too the stock remote turn on.
     
  5. 99GreenStang

    99GreenStang Active Member

    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    This is what you need to do . Good post friend


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    That is a hell of an idea. Simple and clever. I like it. The only other thing I could think to do was wire a normally closed relay to control the preamp output from the deck and hook it up so it cute the connection between the deck and amp when there is power going to the starter. Does it matter how many watts the resistor is?
     
  7. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,496
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    no its low power it will not matter, the hack shack should have them. What is important is to insulate the connections or you will make some sparks and possibly let out the magic smoke from the electronics. The other option is to install a voltage regulator/zener diode but its a little more in depth then the resistor.
     
  8. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    Ok. Thanks guys
     
  9. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,496
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    make sure the resistor is only going too the factory remote wire or your kicker amp will not turn on with 6 v.
     
  10. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    Wired the resistor in and it still pops. Wired 2 of them in and it popped. Unhooked the sub amp and it popped. Unhooked the mach amp and it didn't... Any ideas?
     
  11. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,496
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    are you using the rca out on the deck to feed the mach system or the speaker output(wires)? If your using the rca's to feed the mach system try disconnecting them and see if it still pops.
     
  12. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    I'll try that. The resistor I used is a 1.5k ohm 2w
     
  13. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    Unhooked the RCA cables from the back of the head unit and it still does it. It only does it if I let the fuel pump prime before I start it. If I just twist the key all the way to start it doesn't do it
     
  14. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    Also this may be a stupid question but how am I supposed to wire the resistor in? Inline from the head unit to the amp in that blue wire right? Not one end of the resistor T'd in to the remote turn on and the other end grounded?
     
  15. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,496
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    you want to cut the wire that leads into the stock wiring ONLY... Then simply put one end of the resistor on one wire, the other end on the other wire. This is called series wiring and in case you were curious, resistors are not polarized meaning it does not have a specific +/- end.

    Ok so if you turn the key straight to start it doesn't make the pop, but even with the rca's out of it if you let it prime then start it pops? Not sure what to say. Sounds like a problem with the amp obviously if it does it with out an signal too it.
     
  16. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    That's how I have it wired right now. Guess I'll just have to remember to shut the stereo off before I shut the car off. Or not prime the pump before I start it
     
  17. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,496
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    it pops when you turn the key off? Now that honestly is a first, a turn off pop I have never heard before. We could try a capacitor too see if slowly discharching the remote wire would help but we might also need a relay just too keep from pulling too much current from your deck and blowing the remote turn on output.
     
  18. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    no pop when it turns off. only when it turns on. i was saying ill have to shut the stereo off so it doesnt pop the next time i start it.
     
  19. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    I have a fixed 5v regulator that I'm going to try and see if that will work better than the resistor. I'll report back when I find out the results
     
  20. piester

    piester New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Location:
    newark valley ny. near binghamton
    Didn't work. Hm. So even with 5 volts going to the turn on wire and no RCA wires hooked up to the CD player it still pops. Any ideas?