Tach issues

Discussion in '94-95 5.0 - Specific' started by CobraClone94, Apr 7, 2016.

  1. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    So my car has done this since i've owned it. the tach works when i first cold start it, then drops and stays at 0 till it warms up, then it'll start working, there's a sound coming from behind it all the time as well... do these cars have a cable?. Wondering if i'll need a need cluster?. anyone have this issue?.
     
  2. mcglsr2

    mcglsr2 Well-Known Member SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando
    Assuming you have a 94 from your name - it's all electronic. The tach in the instrument cluster receives it's signal from the ECU. Are you saying you hear a sound coming from behind the tach gauge in the instrument cluster? What kind of sound?
     
  3. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    like a ticking it goes up in speed relative to the engine speed, it sounds like it's coming from behind the cluster. it's a bit harder to make out now with my new exhaust being a bit louder.
     
  4. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,021
    Likes Received:
    138
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    I bought a cluster off ebay, its odo gear was broken, price was right, I needed the speedo motor that turns the needle. Mine got terrets and would do all kinds of crazy things. I'd send ya the motor for the tach for next to nothin, cover the shipping and a couple bucks. Can take some pics when I get home.
     
  5. mcglsr2

    mcglsr2 Well-Known Member SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando
    Yah sounds the like the motor that moves the needle. Have the needles ever been pulled off your gauge?
     
  6. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    if i am gonna have to pull the cluster for something like that, i might as well upgrade to a cobra cluster.. thanks for the offer :)
     
  7. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    Yeah i thought so, time for an upgrade :)