Tfi adapter

cobra199421

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Has anyone adapted a sn95 to use a foxbody distributor? I just dropped a 331 with a v3 into my 94 cobra and have a foxbody terminator x. It's not syncing and I'm not getting spark but motor turns over. Someone mentioned adapting the tfi but how?
 

ttocs

Post Whore
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
32,213
Reaction score
5,496
Location
Evansville Indiana
if you don't change the passenger side accessory bracket the TFI on the dist will hit it, and I thought if you used the fox body accessory bracket that it hit the rad IIRC?
 
OP
OP
C

cobra199421

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
if you don't change the passenger side accessory bracket the TFI on the dist will hit it, and I thought if you used the fox body accessory bracket that it hit the rad IIRC?
My new set up came out of a fox. We didn't change anything. Everything fit fine into my 94. The issue is having a sn95 electrical system that was butchered by the previous owners, we took out or bypassed the alarms thinking we got locked out of the starter. We're still not getting spark though. We've trouble shot everything and I think we narrowed it down to the tfi. So if the tfi gets adapted it may fix the problem but I'm not sure. This is my 1st build with my 1st mustang so there's still a lot I don't know
 

lwarrior1016

Mr. Secondary Timing Chain
Staff
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
8,413
Reaction score
3,852
Location
South Mississippi
Has anyone adapted a sn95 to use a foxbody distributor? I just dropped a 331 with a v3 into my 94 cobra and have a foxbody terminator x. It's not syncing and I'm not getting spark but motor turns over. Someone mentioned adapting the tfi but how?
If you’re using terminator x, you would be better off getting a Holley dual sync distributor with a blank cap and using LS coils. The dual sync distributor is ok but requires a msd box.
 
OP
OP
C

cobra199421

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
If you’re using terminator x, you would be better off getting a Holley dual sync distributor with a blank cap and using LS coils. The dual sync distributor is ok but requires a msd box.
My buddy just suggested that
 
OP
OP
C

cobra199421

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
what kind of alarm was it?
There was the factory ford alarm, a "dealer alarm", a after market alarm and a motion/proximity alarm in my car. Both aftermarket alarms were tied into the ignition wires under the column.
 
OP
OP
C

cobra199421

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
I need the colors for a sn95 dizzy and a 93 dizzy. I think I'm not getting power so I have no pip? I'm going to call Holley to try and troubleshoot in the morning
 
OP
OP
C

cobra199421

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
The set up I have ran an 11.2 in the qtr last year in the foxbody. This year's shot obviously so I have this winter to get the issues squared away. I just hate feeling like I'm chasing ghosts. Lol
 

ttocs

Post Whore
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
32,213
Reaction score
5,496
Location
Evansville Indiana
There was the factory ford alarm, a "dealer alarm", a after market alarm and a motion/proximity alarm in my car. Both aftermarket alarms were tied into the ignition wires under the column.
I installed audio security for too long is why I ask. Did you remove all the wiring that was under the dash associated with the alarm or just disconnect the alarm module? Was there a relay up in the ignition harness? I am asking all this because depending on what alarm was in there and what you did to remove/bypass/disconnect it may or may not be why the starter is still seeing no power. Most alarms use a negative triggered relay that normally is mounted around the ignition harness to turn off the starter wire when the alarm is active. There are other brands like code alarm that uses a normally open starter kill meaning the starter wire/circuit is open/dead until the alarm connects it when you start the car. So in an alarm like this if you just disconnected the module, you have left the starter circuit open until you find the wires they cut, and reconnect them.
 
OP
OP
C

cobra199421

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
I installed audio security for too long is why I ask. Did you remove all the wiring that was under the dash associated with the alarm or just disconnect the alarm module? Was there a relay up in the ignition harness? I am asking all this because depending on what alarm was in there and what you did to remove/bypass/disconnect it may or may not be why the starter is still seeing no power. Most alarms use a negative triggered relay that normally is mounted around the ignition harness to turn off the starter wire when the alarm is active. There are other brands like code alarm that uses a normally open starter kill meaning the starter wire/circuit is open/dead until the alarm connects it when you start the car. So in an alarm like this if you just disconnected the module, you have left the starter circuit open until you find the wires they cut, and reconnect them.
Luckily they didn't cut any factory wires. They removed the insulation and just wrapped the aftermarket alarms to the bare section. It was easy to put the wiring back to "factory" by just unwrapping it and disconnecting. But the car did sit with no motor or battery for over 2 months. The factory ecu is gone (replaced by a holley Terminator x). I think we have a pin wrong in the connector for the tfi possibility. I can't find a color chart for a fox dizzy and a sn95 dizzy so I can see if that connector was made correctly
 

ttocs

Post Whore
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
32,213
Reaction score
5,496
Location
Evansville Indiana
I am familiar with the wiring connection you mention BUT if there was a starter kill installed they would have HAD to cut the starter wire and insert the starter kill in between them. You might just poke your head back up in there and make sure there isn't a wire that is cut, or a relay or wires still connected to the wires in the ignition column
 
OP
OP
C

cobra199421

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
I am familiar with the wiring connection you mention BUT if there was a starter kill installed they would have HAD to cut the starter wire and insert the starter kill in between them. You might just poke your head back up in there and make sure there isn't a wire that is cut, or a relay or wires still connected to the wires in the ignition column
I replaced the ignition cylinder and switch when I was under there and didn't see anything but ill recheck
 

ttocs

Post Whore
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
32,213
Reaction score
5,496
Location
Evansville Indiana
ok that is a cheaper brand with a regular relay style starter kill IF THEY HOOKED IT UP. One shop I worked at used them for a while, I hated working with them.

Look to see if you see an orange wire going up to a relay under the dash.
 

Musturd

Post Whore
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
10,348
Reaction score
2,000
if you don't change the passenger side accessory bracket the TFI on the dist will hit it, and I thought if you used the fox body accessory bracket that it hit the rad IIRC?
I’m running a fox distributor
 

Musturd

Post Whore
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
10,348
Reaction score
2,000
I’m running a fox distributor with a fox body terminator x on my 95 . I should take some new pics since the wiring is all cleaned up and old junk removed 61A9FFC6-5A8D-4A49-9911-A8342A2ADA79.jpeg
 
Last edited:

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
77,355
Messages
1,500,011
Members
14,846
Latest member
Brynden29

Members online

Top