To sway bar or not to sway bar... this is my question

TheOdessa

Reaction score
So I'm almost done with my suspension build and the last thing really eating at me is the sway bars. They are stock. The mounts are energy suspension poly and the links are MOOG poly... but the bar itself. Should I upgrade the front and rear bar itself?

I read a lot of good reviews on AM, but I take them with a grain of salt half the time (have you read the reviews on the TB spacer on there?!).

Anyway, should I? Is it worth the coin? I'm a weekend spirited driver but trying to figure out if it's needed, will I feel a huge difference, or should I focus elsewhere?

https://www.americanmuscle.com/srperformance-swaybar-kit-9404.html

Warhorse Racing

Reaction score
So I'm almost done with my suspension build and the last thing really eating at me is the sway bars. They are stock. The mounts are energy suspension poly and the links are MOOG poly... but the bar itself. Should I upgrade the front and rear bar itself?

I read a lot of good reviews on AM, but I take them with a grain of salt half the time (have you read the reviews on the TB spacer on there?!).

Anyway, should I? Is it worth the coin? I'm a weekend spirited driver but trying to figure out if it's needed, will I feel a huge difference, or should I focus elsewhere?

Sway bars are one of the most personal choices you can make when it comes to suspension. But, it's important to note that, in addition to the positive benefits of bigger sway bars, they increase understeer and oversteer. Adding a larger front sway bar to a car that doesn't have some adjustability in the suspension will INCREASE understeer. Adding a larger rear sway bar to a car that doesn't have adjustability in the suspension will INCREASE oversteer. SN95 Mustangs with coil overs generally perform better with smaller front sway bars (V6 bars are a common choice).