Tps question

Discussion in '96-04 - 2V Specific' started by 97_281gt, Jul 1, 2015.

  1. 97_281gt

    97_281gt Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Will a tps that's is throw the p0122 code (I think don't remember for sure) would it make the idle stay high? Like when I'm driving if I push in the clutch at 3 grand it stays there if I let the clutch back our and the rmps drop to 2 grand then push the clutch in it stays there. Would that code make it do that cause if the tps isn't reading correctly?


    Ps the tps was already swapped with another one and still did it
     
  2. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,482
    Likes Received:
    791
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    Un plug the tps and then start it.
     
  3. 97_281gt

    97_281gt Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    What will that do?
     
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,490
    Likes Received:
    2,503
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    stock throttle body?
     
  5. 97_281gt

    97_281gt Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Yea all stock besides exhauat
     
  6. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,482
    Likes Received:
    791
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    Did you try it?
     
  7. 97_281gt

    97_281gt Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Not yet I work graveyard just woke up
     
  8. 97_281gt

    97_281gt Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    It started normal? What's it suppose to do
     
  9. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,482
    Likes Received:
    791
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    Not run good. Should have been a completely different sart up from your start ups now. Shouldnt idle or run good, .....did you try driving it? TPSensors will read partial and be intermittent when they go bad.
     
  10. 97_281gt

    97_281gt Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    It started fine but broke up and drove like shit
     
  11. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,482
    Likes Received:
    791
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    If their are no other recent mods performed and the high idle just started, I would be pointing at the tps or IAC valve.
     
  12. 97_281gt

    97_281gt Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    I just bought it it doesn't have a high idle when you just sitting there it's only if your driving and you push in the clutch to cost where ever the rmps are when you push in the clutch is where they stay
     
  13. 97_281gt

    97_281gt Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    And I've swapped the iac with a known good one I'm gonna try to adj the tps tomorrow and if that doesn't work I'm gonna swap another one on it and see what it does
     
  14. lwarrior1016

    lwarrior1016 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    5,659
    Likes Received:
    678
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    Was it 5spd swapped or tuned recently? I know mine did that when I put the 5spd in it before the tune.
     
  15. 97_281gt

    97_281gt Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Nope factory 5 speed and no tune in it