Transmissions that mate with a 5.0l ho v8?

chasingomas

Reaction score
Hi!

Sorry if this has been answered elsewhere, I'm still new to proper terminology so I did look using the vocabulary I know.

I'm building a 95 mustang gt for drifting on pretty much a shoe string budget. Im getting a 5.0L ho v8 (94 probably). I'm looking for manual transmissions that I might be able to junkyard or find relatively easily online and mate. T5's in my area are pretty expensive also, even used, and I heard they don't do great constantly rowing through gears, so it doesn't make a lot of sense for me to invest into something expensive thats going to break under (my) normal use anyways.

I don't have access to a ton of tools but i can always rent them and i'd much rather put in the physical labor and pay that way because I don't have the money to buy something fully prepared to go in.

So I guess I'm looking for something relatively inexpensive or possible to junkyard, somewhat reliable under stress, and mates with the engine. I'm know theres not a lot of overlap between these asks but I googled and couldn't find anything so I'm asking y'all!. I'm going to replace pretty much anything once I get an income, I just need something i can throw in and beat on that won't self-destruct in 2 months. Thank you so much!

RAU03MACH

Legend
Reaction score
automatic c-6 is really torquey that could be another suggest
boarg warner's 4 speed
there may be a couple of newer ones out there
one of these guys may have that info
the 5.0 stuff is pretty old see a lot of it in the past

OP
OP
C

chasingomas

Reaction score
boarg warner's 4 speed
Thank you! yeah I want to eventually do the coyote swap but this is my first build and my first car so I'm trying to just get it close to stock and on the road so I can actually drive, then upgrade when I have the money and seat time/experience to know exactly what I want to upgrade.

Mustang5L5

Reaction score