Which heads?

Itsaiight5.0

Reaction score
So I did a little research on heads for my 94 gt, and appears my cheapest, route would be some gt40p heads. However I don't know which ones, (year if it matters), will bolt up and if there's anything else I'll need to change. I just bought an Edelbrock performance upper and lower intake, and I figured if I'ma change out that I might as well change out tha heads. Also, is there any difference performance wise between gt40p and say a $800 dollar set of Edelbrock heads? I am out of my wheelhouse here seeing as I'm an electrician, not a mechanic so bare with me because I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

beyondEOD

Reaction score
Mid 1997+ Explorer/Mountaineer SUV Models - Part #F77E-AA

You will need P specific headers or BBK unequal length work with 90 degree plug wires.

I found a set that was pulled from a running explorer for $100. I decided to have them cleaned, decked, valve job, AlexParts spring kit and seals installed for $300.

You will need valve springs even for the stock HO cam. Alexparts has drop in kits. Stock rocker will work fine.

From what I have read pretty much every aluminum head has what it needs to outperform the gt40 heads. I still wanted them. For $500 in my heads I wanna work on getting the car into the 12s NA.

If you find a clean set of heads you could probably just swap springs if the valve job still seals.

Are you keeping EGR?

Goals for the car?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

OP
OP
I

Itsaiight5.0

Reaction score

You will need P specific headers or BBK unequal length work with 90 degree plug wires.

I found a set that was pulled from a running explorer for $100. I decided to have them cleaned, decked, valve job, AlexParts spring kit and seals installed for $300.

You will need valve springs even for the stock HO cam. Alexparts has drop in kits. Stock rocker will work fine.