which x pipe is the best?

shocar4

Reaction score
I know that there are alot of opinions on this, but I am ready to buy an off road x pipe and I can't decide which brand to go with! BBK, SLP,Magnaflow,Pypes.....I live in NC and we have inspections so I believe that I will need the MIL Eliminator if I am correct....please give me your advice....BTW I have a 97 cobra with Flowmasters! Thanks fellas!!!

MustangChris

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
if you have inspections, you will need cats, not MILs....

i suggest bassani as "the best"

OP
OP
S

shocar4

Reaction score
well we have diagnostic inspections so they plug in to your obd2 port.....there are alot of mustangs for sale around here that have o/r x pipes so I am assuming they are passing by having the MIL illiminators...just a guess!

MustangChris

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
if they put a sniffer on your tailpipe, youll need cats.
if they dont, youll just need to get rid of the MIL, which any performance shop, handheld tuner, or MIL eliminators would do for you.

MustangChris

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
JiMi_DRiX said:
Unless they also do a visual inspection...

+1. they dont do taht at the place i go to. but my buddy with an 89 got busted for having 2 cats when OEM equipment came with 6..... ouch.

he just took it to a different place. LOL.

JiMi_DRiX

Reaction score
MustangChris said:
JiMi_DRiX said:
Unless they also do a visual inspection...

+1. they dont do taht at the place i go to. but my buddy with an 89 got busted for having 2 cats when OEM equipment came with 6..... ouch.

he just took it to a different place. LOL.

My exhaust guy was telling me about that, sometimes the emissions crew gets cranky and will fail cars with 2 cats when they are stock with six. So the suggestion for me was to go catless, and just put the stock midpipe back in once every two years for my emissions. I liked that idea.. lol. Just havent gotten it done yet

MustangChris

Post Whore