Lares Steering components??

Jposey66

Reaction score
So, been chasing issues with my hydroboost and steering system with no real luck. I think it may come down to inferior reman parts (I used Cardone). Does anyone have any experience with Lares Corporation steering parts? Looks like they are the only "new" option for power steering pump and steering rack, other than expensive flaming river racks.

Lares 97 Mustang 4.6 Steering Components

96blak54

Staff
Reaction score
I have no experience,...sorry
But you have come to the right place for info because someone that hangs around here will know exactly what you are asking.

What is your current problem with the steering? What symptoms or how is it acting?

OP
OP
J

Jposey66

Reaction score
I have no experience,...sorry
But you have come to the right place for info because someone that hangs around here will know exactly what you are asking.

What is your current problem with the steering? What symptoms or how is it acting?
I have replace the rack twice, the pump twice, and the hydroboost twice, all with newly remanufactured parts from Cardon. Still get the same issue. After a month or so the power assist starts becoming erratic, especially under higher RPM. Start buzzing it up close to redline and, if I'm in a turn, it feels like the steering almost locks but seems that i'm just loosing power assist.

cobrajeff96

Reaction score
I have used the original Ford C-III pump in both virgin form and remanufactured form, as well as the 'new' Lares aluminum pumps. Stay away from the Lares. They're trash. I burned up three of them within a month or two max. Sadly the Ford C-III pumps weren't that good to begin with and all the originals in circulation are re-man'd and not to a good specification/standard either. The original Fords are at least cast iron so usually about the worst they'll do is just squeal like a scalded cat. On the bright side you can tell people it's your supercharger.