How not to use a torque wrench

piecebypiece

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
I found out the other day that you're not supposed to make your own settings if they're not on the scale for the torque you need. I was putting an oil pump on a block and I needed to torque it to 90 in/lbs, but my torque wrench started at 120 in/lbs. I thought I would be okay if I I adjusted the wrench to where 90 in/lbs would've been; big mistake. I snapped off one of the oil pump bolts in the block and damn near twisted another one in half. I so lucked out on the broken bolt because enough of it was sticking out of the block that I could back it out with a pair of Vise-grips. So needless to say, I'm going to spring for a torque wrench that has a starting range of much less than 90 in/lbs so I don't have to make my own settings :)
 

red9535

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
100
Reaction score
0
Been there, done that. Broke off not one, but THREE valve cover bolts into my cylinder heads when I built my 302... those were REAL fun to get out :rollinglaugh:
 

330CubeGt

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
3,880
Reaction score
100
red9535 said:
Been there, done that. Broke off not one, but THREE valve cover bolts into my cylinder heads when I built my 302... those were REAL fun to get out :rollinglaugh:

I hope you were using in/lbs tq wrench? I hardly torque anything i guestimate
 

TxCobrA98

Legend
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
7,976
Reaction score
6
torquing things to spec is important.

also, using the right torque wrench is. my dad said he nevers uses a torque wrench within like 10% of both ends of the settings. idk something he learned in the military.
 

joekd

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
3,968
Reaction score
128
Location
Ct
330CubeGt said:
I hope you were using in/lbs tq wrench? I hardly torque anything i guestimate

You just tighten to German specs? Guuden Fuckentite?
 

TxCobrA98

Legend
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
7,976
Reaction score
6
karrarararararar said:
No more than +/- 6% for the AF
maybe thats what it was, my dad was in the AF and gave me a number but i forgot.
 

karrarararararar

Active Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
310
Reaction score
0
[TxCobrA98 said:
]
karrarararararar said:
No more than +/- 6% for the AF
maybe thats what it was, my dad was in the AF and gave me a number but i forgot.

yup, that's what it is. I'm a crew chief so I use torque wrenches all the time.
 

Crone

Active Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
768
Reaction score
0
I did not know that... You mean +/- 6 ft pounds on the limit of the torque wrench?
 

Twista

Legend
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
6,042
Reaction score
77
i used my 1st torque wrench to remove my alternator belt =] it worked. Only thing i had with a 1/2 drive LOL
 

karrarararararar

Active Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
310
Reaction score
0
Crone said:
I did not know that... You mean +/- 6 ft pounds on the limit of the torque wrench?

no, all of our torque wrenches are calibrated and if the accuracy is off by more than 6% we can use it (or at least we're not supposed to, lol)
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
77,674
Messages
1,507,107
Members
15,102
Latest member
Greg Futral

Members online

Top