How not to use a torque wrench

Discussion in 'Tech Articles, How-To's & Write Ups' started by piecebypiece, May 14, 2007.

  1. piecebypiece

    piecebypiece New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    I found out the other day that you're not supposed to make your own settings if they're not on the scale for the torque you need. I was putting an oil pump on a block and I needed to torque it to 90 in/lbs, but my torque wrench started at 120 in/lbs. I thought I would be okay if I I adjusted the wrench to where 90 in/lbs would've been; big mistake. I snapped off one of the oil pump bolts in the block and damn near twisted another one in half. I so lucked out on the broken bolt because enough of it was sticking out of the block that I could back it out with a pair of Vise-grips. So needless to say, I'm going to spring for a torque wrench that has a starting range of much less than 90 in/lbs so I don't have to make my own settings :)
     
  2. red9535

    red9535 Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Been there, done that. Broke off not one, but THREE valve cover bolts into my cylinder heads when I built my 302... those were REAL fun to get out :rollinglaugh:
     
  3. 330CubeGt

    330CubeGt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    96
    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    I hope you were using in/lbs tq wrench? I hardly torque anything i guestimate
     
  4. TxCobrA98

    TxCobrA98 Legend

    Messages:
    7,976
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    torquing things to spec is important.

    also, using the right torque wrench is. my dad said he nevers uses a torque wrench within like 10% of both ends of the settings. idk something he learned in the military.
     
  5. joekd

    joekd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    Ct
    You just tighten to German specs? Guuden Fuckentite?
     
  6. Suspect

    Suspect Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Location:
    ATL
    :laughing4:
     
  7. vermilion

    vermilion Legend

    Messages:
    6,300
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    maryland
    military is +/- 10 yep.
     
  8. CC'S95GT

    CC'S95GT Legend

    Messages:
    10,738
    Likes Received:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hampton ,Ga.
    And never use a torque wrench to loosen or break torque.
     
  9. karrarararararar

    karrarararararar Active Member

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    No more than +/- 6% for the AF
     
  10. TxCobrA98

    TxCobrA98 Legend

    Messages:
    7,976
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    maybe thats what it was, my dad was in the AF and gave me a number but i forgot.
     
  11. karrarararararar

    karrarararararar Active Member

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    yup, that's what it is. I'm a crew chief so I use torque wrenches all the time.
     
  12. Crone

    Crone Active Member

    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    I did not know that... You mean +/- 6 ft pounds on the limit of the torque wrench?
     
  13. Twista

    Twista Legend

    Messages:
    6,042
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    i used my 1st torque wrench to remove my alternator belt =] it worked. Only thing i had with a 1/2 drive LOL
     
  14. karrarararararar

    karrarararararar Active Member

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    no, all of our torque wrenches are calibrated and if the accuracy is off by more than 6% we can use it (or at least we're not supposed to, lol)