Absolute STOCK V6, what kind of gas mileage should I be getting?

Gemini

Reaction score
Second fill up on the car and I'm getting 15.3 mpg (city, only had it over 55 a couple of times).
New plugs, wires, coil pack, fuel pump (walbro 255 lph), fuel filter etc.

I have taken the car through the ENTIRE Haynes 60,000 mile tune up and hit every line item.

Seems low but I have no experience with these cars so any insight would be greatly appreciated!

96blak54

Staff
Reaction score
I would think at least 20mpg. Have you tested the maf sensor? Are you sure the injectors spray is clean? Look or should i say listen for vacuum leaks. Be sure air in tires are to recommendation.

Alot of overlooked qualities can add up destroying gas mileage and power.

07GtS197

Reaction score
If I remember correctly from my 3.8 days theyre not very efficient motors. You should probably be getting better fuel mileage but its not going to be much better. And city driving is where you get worse mpg from all the stop and go and little to no overdrive useage.

evilcw311

Most Evil Member!
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
My gt averaged 25mpg on the highway with a b303 cam and always running pig rich. It was a 5spd with factory rear end gears but there’s no way the v6 should be getting that low of mileage.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
OP
G

Gemini

Reaction score
I cleaned the MAF sensor once trying to chase down a miss (turned out my Coil pack was faulty). Can't hear any vacuum leaks, I have NOT checked the injectors.

Just got home, with a CEL with P0141 Oxygen Sensor heater circuit...

Burninriverdiver

Reaction score
My old v6 5 speed was usually around 18-20 for every day driving and closer to 30 with all highway. I've bought cars in the past that didn't do well on the first tank for some reason then evened out over the next couple fillups.

OP
OP
G

Gemini

Reaction score
Giving it a shakedown run from Florida to TX tomorrow... see how it goes

OP
OP
G

Gemini

Reaction score