Do I NEED a tune after a PI swap???

Discussion in '96-04 - 2V Specific' started by 96gt226410, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. 96gt226410

    96gt226410 Active Member

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    I'm going to finish my PI swap soon and I was wondering if I need a tune? "Need" being a key word here. I'm piss broke as it is. :'(
     
  2. jpajkos

    jpajkos Active Member

    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    I would do it. Your Air fuel will be off. If you plan on doing more mods in the near future hold off. A tune is like giving your car a fresh start and kinda like keeping it up to date kinda thing. I know those are wierd anaolgies (spelling) but you'll squeeze a few extra ponies out of it also. :thumb:
     
  3. ripper

    ripper Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    If you dont have the mony then you dont. It may run a little ruff at first but eventually the computer will adjust to the change. It will probubly detect the more airflow and run rich. If you hear a ping though get it done right away. Detonation will kill it.
     
  4. voidfinger

    voidfinger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    yikes, pinging lol, you really want to run 93 in it too, if not then 91 or whatever they sell there. maybe throw in some oct booster or something.
     
  5. Brian95SVT

    Brian95SVT Legend

    Messages:
    6,871
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    all i need are the h/c now, i have the intake... so i guess once i get the other two ill get a tune. how much does a tune like that usually run??
     
  6. ripper

    ripper Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Here in jersey its like 500 bux. But ive seen it cheaper in other states. Thats a dyno tune.
     
  7. voidfinger

    voidfinger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    depends on if you have a chip and how many places that tune. Around where i use to live they charged like 1 g but they were only place in like 200 miles that tuned. Go figure. :rant:
     
  8. ripper

    ripper Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Holly shit man thats alot of money. Guess when your the only one you make the price.
     
  9. DropTopPony

    DropTopPony Administrator Staff Member Admin SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    15,342
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    South Jersey
    you don't need a tune until you add aftermarket cams, i drove around for 2 years with no tune on my PI swap with all the bolt ons you could think of. I didn't even get a tune after i swapped to VT heads and Comp 262ah's but i barely drove it that often and it would stall at the red light.

    Now i would definately get one as soon as you could afford it to maximize the hp and a/f ratio.
     
  10. voidfinger

    voidfinger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    so does it run it lean or rich? just wondering. thanks