TPS Problems

Discussion in 'General Tech' started by Slum, Dec 4, 2014.

  1. Slum

    Slum New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Last weekend i decided to clean my MAF and replace the gasket on the throttle body since it was missing one.Once i took of the throttle body i noticed how dirty and oily it was inside.I decided to take off the IAC and TPS to clean the throttle body properly.Long story short i put everything back together and go for a ride. Immediately i noticed the car bucks really bad after i let go of the clutch and slows it self down.I went straight to the TPS and measured the volts. Wouldn't go over .2 volts no matter where i moved it.I checked the codes and sure enough i got 122,TPS under .6 so i disconnected the TPS and checked the source its a good 5 volts and the ground is also good but the test wire is still reading .2. My question is, is the test wire supposed to measure .2 even with the TPS disconnected??(The test wire is pretty beat up from many needles being poked into it) I wanted to know before i buy a TPS if i should first look into the connector.
     
  2. CC'S95GT

    CC'S95GT Legend

    Messages:
    10,738
    Likes Received:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hampton ,Ga.
    Did you read the voltage as you slowly move the TPS?
     
  3. Slum

    Slum New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Yes i did,constant .2 all the way to WOT.
     
  4. CC'S95GT

    CC'S95GT Legend

    Messages:
    10,738
    Likes Received:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hampton ,Ga.
    definately sounds like the TPS.
    Have you tried testing it off the car. and "back pin" the connector instead of going through the insulation?
     
  5. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,472
    Likes Received:
    2,495
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    you probably got some crap down into the wiper on the sensor. If you happen to have electrical contact cleaner you can try a few spays of that and see what happens. Even if you don't have the cleaner just twist the sensor(as the tb would) back and for for a few minutes and it might clean the contacts on the wiper enough to work.