Tuning

Discussion in 'Forced Induction & Tuning' started by TheBab, Apr 16, 2007.

  1. TheBab

    TheBab Active Member

    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Right now my car is tuned with an Autologic Chip...


    The previous owner did that.... I'm not a big fan of it... according to the dyno sheets I have from him.. they shut the car down at around 5800-6000rpms.. so I make no power after that what so ever..... I'm forced to shift at 5800.

    Sometimes on decel itll back fire..... and today I smelt a little bit of gas.

    I think it's running REALLY rich... I went through a little over half a tank of gas today and I only drove maybe 50-60 miles?


    What do you guys recommend I do?

    :dunno:

    I do have access to a dyno but no tuners around.... :rant:

    I'm only here till October.. I just want it to run strong till then.. lol
     
  2. ripper

    ripper Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    What mods do you have?
     
  3. ju015dd

    ju015dd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Location:
    tallahassee, fl
    what maf do you have and size fuel pump?
     
  4. TheBab

    TheBab Active Member

    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Everything to the engine...

    Engine was bored 0.030 over, Manley H-beams, DSS blower pistons with 8.5-1 compresion.
    Vortech S-Trim supercharger
    front mount intercooler
    42lbs. injectors with a lightning 90mm Mass air meter
    Walboro 255 fuel pump with T-rex pump
    Flowmaster mufflers
    Bassani X-pipe
    FRPP shroty ceramic coated headers
     
  5. ripper

    ripper Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Well if you cant wait till October you can call Brent at brenspeed and have him send you a tuned chip for your mods. It wont be 100% and not cheap but it will run right.
     
  6. TheBab

    TheBab Active Member

    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    What are you opinions on the XCAL2?

    Can't I tell a shop my mods and they can send it out with a tune on it...

    Dyno and Data Log it..

    And see if they need to make corrections?
     
  7. 19mustang95

    19mustang95 Legend

    Messages:
    6,137
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    www.VMPtuning.com does great mailorder tunes and even better dynotuning. he does some badass work, he has a TT V6 that runs in the 10s, and his wife has a vortech'd 05 V6 with 400HP :eek:
     
  8. ripper

    ripper Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Thats what i was talking about. But the important thing is fuel air ratio and the x cal wont give you that. You will have to be careful you dont get a ping. Its hard to hear a ping on a supercharged car with aftermarket exhaust. Ya kinda need a trained ear. But after you flash the puter run it then run a diag. on it and you can send it to brent on tyour home puter. He will analyse it then make corrections. You download it to x cal then re flash car. Like i said it wont be 100% but it will be better than what you have now. It sounds like the last tune was on a new motor and the tuner didnt want the motor over reved so he limited the rpms.
     
  9. Thomas_W

    Thomas_W Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Capon Bridge, WV
    if you can't wait and dont have access to a tuner.. here's what i'd do...

    Buy a wideband O2 sensor.. ($240 for a NGK powerdex... it works great, i love mine).

    Then have Tim at modularpowerhouse.com send you an X-cal w/ a custom tune. He probably has one from a setup almost exact to yours as he's done tons of cars. when you get the X-cal.. load the tune and do a datalogging session w/ the input from the wideband into the X-cal 2. then you can send tim that file and he can review it and make corrections to it as necessary...