Unknown electrical issue,speedo,clock and radio not working.

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by tchmotorsports, Aug 12, 2014.

  1. tchmotorsports

    tchmotorsports Member

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Vista,ca
    Today as I was driving smoke started to seep from the center console area along with a burning smell.I immediatly shut the car off and it stopped smoking.Couple minutes later the car starts no problem,runs fine,no smoke but the speedo,trip meter,clock and radio do not work.Everything else is fine.

    Any suggestions,seems smoke was coming from center console,maybe from near top of transmission?
     
  2. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    What year? Must be a digital trip, lol....
     
  3. tchmotorsports

    tchmotorsports Member

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Vista,ca
    It's a 97.I did some searching...people with same problem said fuse 6 and 8 under dash were blown.I'm thinking I have a short underneath the console from previous owner wiring up a toggle switch for the cobra fogs.
    That doesn't explain the mechanical odometer though?Ill check it out after work tomorrow.
     
  4. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    Well the speedo/odometer both need the VSS signal from the transmission, that harness comes from the pass side firewall, a big 23 pin connector. You have an auto or manual? Either or, the VSS sensor is on the left side of the trans towards the back half, 2 pin connector, rectangular, square on one side, rounded on the other....Does it have a speedcal perhaps? Maybe someone wired it in previously?
     
  5. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    Is "Ign Switch 3 - 40A" blown?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,474
    Likes Received:
    2,496
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I would start at that toggle switch you mentioned.
     
  7. tchmotorsports

    tchmotorsports Member

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Vista,ca
    That fuse was okay Lutter94.I pulled the inside part of the armrest compartment out and found a stock 8 pin plug with melted and exposed wires.Sure enough it was spliced into for the fog switch.

    Any idea what the eight pin plug is?It is a factory piece and directly underneath the armrest compartment near the e-brake.Thanks for the help guys :D
     
  8. RichV

    RichV Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    247
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    ^This.

    And check all fuses and links. Follow the smell, but get to it asap. Never know what else can be affected.
     
  9. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,474
    Likes Received:
    2,496
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    something is already wrong with the fusing if it got hot enough to smoke some wires....
     
  10. tchmotorsports

    tchmotorsports Member

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Vista,ca
    I found the problem,ghetto fog light switch like i thought
     
  11. tchmotorsports

    tchmotorsports Member

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Vista,ca
    Heres the damaged harness.The eight pin plug just led to the cigarette lighter.I just pulled it out and replaced two blown 30 amp fuses and everything works now.
    [​IMG]
     
  12. RichV

    RichV Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    247
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    Glad you got it.

    dont run full load of the fogs thru a switch. Definite no-no.