96blak54 on going projects

96blak54

Staff
Reaction score
Welcome to my on going projects thread!
Thought id share with you guys

To start this thread ill give a preview of a camshaft grinder that ive been building on for a couple of years. I have most of it CAD drawn up, but have since changed some of the design for simplicity and cost. Needless to say, like most projects, they take a turn down a different path. The first design was set for rigidity, but rigidity comes with a cost. So lighter and smarter ways to achieve what i want and still make it to produce what i need.

The initial design was to be able to grind multiple types of cams by locating on the centers at the ends of the camshaft and be driven with a dog clamp.(this was rigid) Although my main purpose is to grind modular cams, i didnt want to waste not being able to grind other types.

Ill be using towers to hold the cams, like you see the brass pieces in the pic. Also the pivot shaft the brass towers are functioned with, would have been 2" steel bar ground and polished, but instead i used some available 25mm (.984") ground and polished. The 2" materials would have been sturdy enough for the "between centers" disgn i was shooting for. I like this design better. Actually feels very rigit.

I grabbed a $50 harbor freight 8" pedestal grinder for the grinding. I unbolted the foot mount, machined some mounts with the same body radius to sit snug on the Y axis cross slide. Ill wrap some 1/4"-20 all thread around the body to strap it down. I also had to chuck the entire grinder in the lathe (without grinding wheels...duh) to turn the ends back alittle bit. This will bring the wheels closer together. Doing so will allow the one wheel to clear in between lobes while the other is grinding a lobe.

I still have alot to do, but all in time. Ill keep this thread updated as i proceed.

27ebde945b35aee7338869a47254ef96.jpg

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

evilcw311

Most Evil Member!
SN95 Supporter