'03/'04 Cobra engine/trans swap in SN95?

96GTvert

Reaction score
Hey I'm pretty new to SN95's, I have another thread floating around about a 96 GT Vert I am pickin' up soon and I was just doing some thinking... the engine in my GT has pretty high mileage but is in really good condition but I am just doing some thinkin' about the future just in case anything happens to the engine. My guess is that the '03/'04 Cobra engine and trans would fit in a 96 with no problem because it is a Ford 4.6 V8? I was just wondering if I am correct in this assumption. Of course I'm sure the axle's and suspension would have to be upgraded to handle the extra horsepower and torque, but as far as just dropping the engine in, would it fit in the 96 engine bay fine? Also, does anyone have any rough ideas of $$ for 03/04 Cobra engine and trans or how easily I could come across that setup?

96GT

Reaction score
Straight forward swap. You may need a new hood, but I am not 100 percent certain on that one.

The entire Drivetrain cost 10k+ used. You need to hunt hard for a deal. IMO, its not worth it, just build your own, its cheaper and will yield more power.

Jrgunn5150

Post Whore
Reaction score
There's one for sale in the classifieds for 6500 right now...

It bolt's in the same as any other 4v swap, and a quick search will turn up all you need to know about 4v swaps

OP
OP

96GTvert

Reaction score
Nice. Thanks for the info and yeah, unless my engine were to suddenly blow up for some strange reason, I will be building the stock 4.6 thats in there now. In fact, even if my engine were to blow up, it might be unlikely that I would end up going with an 03/04 Cobra engine and trans. 10+K is steep for a used Cobra engine and trans.. if I could find one for around 6500 (for a good mileage engine and trans) then it might be more practical. The only reason I would go with that setup is because of the insanely high horsepower you can make for a couple K worth of mods.

Jrgunn5150

Post Whore