500hp reliably, help me build it...

1bad95

Reaction score
OK guys I a total noob to modulars and not too knowledgable with motor internals but pretty mechanically inclined. Hoping by end of the year to have the saleen in good running condition and be able to start buying and stockpiling parts for the motor. Looking to be in the area of 500rwhp. I'm not against a centri charger, really want to have a set of cams with some lift for that nice idle.
Motor in car is bone stock with pi intake I believe (has aluminum crossover) and just under 130k miles and t45 trans.

Not looking to go broke on the build but don't want to cut and corners either.

Thanks guys!

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

Musturd

Post Whore
Reaction score
5.0 stroker with forged rods and pistons . Some blower grind cams with edelbrock intake and a intercooled vortech at 15lbs and you'll be just fine and dandy .

OP
OP

1bad95

Reaction score
As far as heads go, stock npi heads? Also use stock block or go with newer block?

OP
OP

1bad95

Reaction score
No e85, wanna stick with 93. Also what year blocks should I hunt for? 99-04?

D3VST8R96GT

Reaction score
Well I know for a fact pre99 blocks will need matching work for a forged crank. I do not know when they started matching the blocks for forged cranks or if it just a cobra thing.

No e85 get pi heads....

OP
OP

1bad95

Reaction score
So might be a good idea to maybe buy a newer pi motor? Have the block needed and heads. With any luck just Cleanup the heads and swap springs if needed for the cams

D3VST8R96GT

Reaction score
Cheapest route

Stock crank
Stock block
Boss rods 180w/bearings
Probe pistons with some dish~500
Rings
Main bearings
ARP rod bolts
ARP mains studs jack screws
ARP head studs
Stock pi heads
MHS valve springs
Cms or MHS blower cams
Stock intake
A nice blower

OP
OP

1bad95

Reaction score