Anyone using a Lightning MAF???

19mustang95

Legend
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
6,137
Reaction score
2
how did you get it to work with your harness...i have been told it wont plug into ours..so do i need to find one from a lighting and splice it into my harness or what? help would be greatly appreciated. :-*
 

ju015dd

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
1,947
Reaction score
31
Location
tallahassee, fl
mine worked just fine, cobra is a 96 and it came off a 99 lighting. i think as long as it is 96 or newer you will have no prob. obdII
 

19mustang95

Legend
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
6,137
Reaction score
2
ju015dd said:
mine worked just fine, cobra is a 96 and it came off a 99 lighting. i think as long as it is 96 or newer you will have no prob. obdII


i asked the guy who is selling it and he said it wouldnt just plug in... :(
 

Rantheman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
0
I forgot which but there ia a company that makes adapter for mafs
 

19mustang95

Legend
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
6,137
Reaction score
2
96, i just went ouside and checked, its a 6 pin connector..im guessing he misunderstood what i was talking about.
 

ju015dd

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
1,947
Reaction score
31
Location
tallahassee, fl
19mustang95 said:
96, i just went ouside and checked, its a 6 pin connector..im guessing he misunderstood what i was talking about.
you should be good to go i would think
 
WHY NOT TO UPGRADE YOUR MAF

Many people think they need to upgrade their MAF. The truth is you dont need a new MAF until the stock one is pegged. Its not so much as to what amount of hp will peg one, but the amount of air going through it. But as a rule of thumb, we will go with 400rwhp. Now Im not saying go out and buy a new one if you're at 400rwhp, you need to datalog the MAF counts and such to see if you need a new one. VERY rarely will someone with a NA car peg the stock MAF.

What does upgrading to a larger MAF do?
Basically it will lean you out and cause the car to run very poorly. As a result you will need to get the car retuned. If you dont, then the lean condition your new MAF causes will lead to a blown motor. Now after you get the new MAF and have the car retuned the gains are very minimal. So that makes your new MAF pointless.

Also, just as a side note, intakes with a bend before the MAF cause bad readings. So stay away from those too.

It gets into more detail here. And for those who dont know who Ed Clark is, he is a VERY reputable tuner at Steen Racing. http://forums.modulardepot.com/showthread.php?t=25092
 

Peter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
6
I spliced it into my harness for my car, I think your car would have similar wiring.
 

SonicStang

Active Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
692
Reaction score
0
I have a vortech and a lightning maf, too. It just plugs in. You might have to extend the wire, and get a power pipe because the stock vortech pipe doesn't really fit because the diameter is smaller.
 

19mustang95

Legend
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
6,137
Reaction score
2
Matt94GT said:
what size is this lightning maf, how much do they go for?

90MM and brand new you can get them for $80, used you can get them as low as fiddy.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
74,880
Messages
1,452,536
Members
13,569
Latest member
94StewFord

Members online

Top