Clay bar ?

voidfinger

Reaction score
Hey guys, i'm new to the detailing thing and i would like to know what the clay bar thing is?

For one i spend on an average wash of the car it takes me like 6/7 hours and i take my sweet time and make sure it has like no spots on it...

Last time i got threw washing it "it was really durty" it has little scratches on the paint. What will take those off?

Paint is about 6 months old.

Dalamar

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
clay bar is to remove stubborn surface contaminates, like overspray, tar, and super baked on bugs ect.

your car is getting swirl marks, it needs a polish job, then wax sealer over that.

OP
OP
V

voidfinger

Reaction score
polish job? like a buff? already? its only been 6 months... Could you give me some good names of stuff? I would like to clean the paint up and then "polish" and then seal it so no more marks and it will stay nice for a long time :)

OP
OP
V

voidfinger

Reaction score
so that one in the link will probably do the job right? Also, will this take paint off? i hope not b/c i don't think the dude put that many coats on it.

OP
OP
V

voidfinger

Reaction score
ok, so if i put the polish down first and then put the wax on top of that... all ii'll have to do ever 2 months or so is just add more wax? will i have to do the polish again? thanks dal.

Dalamar

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
NP Void. once it's polished, yes wax it.
you'll feel it when it wears off. it wont feel super slick any more. rewax :)
Typically it should last 3-4 months using a good product.

OP
OP
V

voidfinger

Reaction score
Dalamar said:
NP Void. once it's polished, yes wax it.
you'll feel it when it wears off. it wont feel super slick any more. rewax :)
Typically it should last 3-4 months using a good product.

o ok, so the wax is the only thing that wears off? the polish stays good unless the wax comes off.... is that what your saying... please exuse me i'm kinda running slow today... long nights...