Gonna wire in some kenwoods to Mach 460, aftermarket kenwood deck.

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by 4.6Stangrage, Aug 7, 2016.

  1. 4.6Stangrage

    4.6Stangrage Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Jamestown, California
    In my 2001 Cobra I have the Mach system with a Kenwood Deck. It appears that the Speakers are still being amplified by the mach system. I am going to upgrade in pairs so I am thinking of to wiring the speakers straight to the deck which is a 52x4 watt deck. I am sure i need an aftermarket amplifier but what do you guys think? Will the sound be drastically different front to back if I do it this way?
     
  2. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,476
    Likes Received:
    789
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    Yes. Better off to replace all the speakers and use a massive ungawdly amp to power them.

    I know whats happening. Youre getting max volume at like 8 on the kenwood when their is another 42 volume clicks to go.

    ttocs may have a brilliant solution,...as he always does. Id hang out till he posts up.
     
  3. 4.6Stangrage

    4.6Stangrage Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Jamestown, California
    Actually I dont have volume issues with this at all. Its just the front woofers are blown and I want to replace them. I know you cant wire them in directly or you run into issues.
     
  4. Frank.JD.Perez

    Frank.JD.Perez Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Pleasanton/Hayward, CA
    Best to redo it all, I've only heard nightmare stories about changing the stereo system with a mach 460. I should have some extra 6x8s and tweeters laying around. I've only ever upgraded the head unit nothing more. The mach 460 bangs awesome for me
     
  5. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,476
    Likes Received:
    789
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    Frank is real. Honestly, you are better off to replace them all and run them with a giant amp. Can never go wrong with to much power!
     
  6. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,476
    Likes Received:
    2,499
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    you don't have to add an amp but you will need to replace the 5 x 7 woofers. Bypassing the amps is easy just find the 8-pin harness pinned to the inside of the dash next to the radio, disconnecting it and then using that as your speaker harness for the radio. then when you install the speakers use the speaker wire that normally goes to the tweeters as the signal for the speakers.
     
  7. 4.6Stangrage

    4.6Stangrage Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Jamestown, California
    Okay, Ill have to look into this. So, pretty much Ill not have the tweeters in the front. I bet the kenwoods would sound better anyways.
     
  8. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,476
    Likes Received:
    2,499
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    you can still use the tweeters if you really wanted but you will need to get a capacitor for each one to put in line to filter the bass out. I think used a 1000 micro-farad cap but its been years. You probably would not miss them if you cut them out though as the new speakers are full range and the sail panels are not really all that great of a place to mount a speaker if your talking about imaging/soundstage stuff