Mach 460 to Mach 1000?

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by Brian95SVT, Apr 15, 2007.

  1. Brian95SVT

    Brian95SVT Legend

    Messages:
    6,871
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    Ok so i have a Mach 460 stock in my 96 GT blah blah blah, the person who had the car put an aftermarket pioneer headunit in it and had a system in it *found this out after finding live wires left full ran thru the car when i was thinkin bout installin my own* but i was thinkin about just upgrading from the 460 to the 1000. still makes it seem like i have a stock system *which technically the 1000 is stock* but will be ALOT better sounding. how hard is it? has anyone done it? where can i get it? i looked at the viteon site *or however you spell it* and i didnt see any prices.

    FEEDBACK!
     
  2. gt96stang

    gt96stang Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Go aftermarket.. Much better than mach1000... and can be built according to budget..
     
  3. Brian95SVT

    Brian95SVT Legend

    Messages:
    6,871
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    i jsut want something stock and nothing big so thats why i wanted to go with it. plus its fitted for my car
     
  4. 916_5.0

    916_5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Im not sure what all is involved with switching to the 1000. I would just go after market though it will have a lot better sound than the 1000 does. ANd you can make it the way you want.
     
  5. slow-six

    slow-six Member

    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    from what i read about the mach 1000, you bolt it up in the trunk,the amps and 2 subs. the wiring just plugs into the 460 wiring harness. there was a article about it in one of the mustang mags. you could buy it from company that made it for ford.
     
  6. scott5

    scott5 Active Member

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    myrtle beach, sc
    would the stock headunit still work with the mach 1000?
     
  7. slow-six

    slow-six Member

    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    yes, the way the article read, just bolt in plug in. it must be the mach 460 wiring harness.
     
  8. 19mustang95

    19mustang95 Legend

    Messages:
    6,137
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    the mach 1000 isnt worth it, it takes up a bunch of space and doesn't even sound good...and for the price they sell at, you can get a much better system with a custum box built to your liking.
     
  9. MattJ

    MattJ New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Youll need an 02+ mach harness because thats when they introduced the mach1000 system. Youll also need the head unit for that. 01 and before's harness is different from 02+.
     
  10. NASTYTIME

    NASTYTIME Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    i have read it takes some work... just go after market saves ya time and frustration in the long run!
     
  11. duh09

    duh09 Legend

    Messages:
    9,241
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    Def go aftermaket.

    Why buy a ton of stock stuff when you can get better? Boxes dont have to take up a lot of room.
     
  12. ThePope

    ThePope Active Member

    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    I personally think the stock Mach 460 sounds awesome. I added a Pioneer TV deck in my 98 GT and it feels like I'm in the movies. I might just switch out for better speakers in the future. But for the most part, I think is sounds great. That's just me.
     
  13. Win

    Win Legend

    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    Kennesaw, Ga