98 cobra t-45 questions

slo1

Reaction score
Hello guys im new to the t-45 trans but I hear alot of horror stories.Im looking at buying an 87 coupe
with a 98 4.6 32v cobra swap the guy told me the 4th gear shift fork is bent he has been driving it not using 4th
how much would it run me to have this fixed keep in mind it wont get a lot of track time itll be my daily driver. Also will a t-5
bolt up to this motor and set up I have a wc t-5 in my garage was for my 95 but if itll mount in place of the t-45
thats where it will go if I get the car

KWClutch

Reaction score
T-45's are cheap. Just buy another one and put it in. As long as you're keeping it under 400hp and don't shift like a tard you'll be fine.

CC'S95GT

Post Whore
Reaction score
I don't think the t-5 will bolt up to the 4.6.

If you decide to sell the t-5 let me know first. Mine is dieing

duff daddy

Legend
Reaction score
t5 will bolt up but you need a bell housing, OR you can find an early mark viii block which has that bolt pattern already in it.... nifty, but it was early early vic's or mark's .....

as far as the t-45, it will be finej ust go get the part stuff it in there and youll be alright, or you can get a built one from liberty's or my favorite pro motion, AWESOME AWESOME sales/service staff over ther top notch!!

Jrgunn5150

Post Whore
Reaction score
If it's broke, I'd just put another one in, you can find them all day for like 2-300 bucks.

duff daddy

Legend
Reaction score
J.R. said:
If it's broke, I'd just put another one in, you can find them all day for like 2-300 bucks.

Ill take 2 extra for this year... FYI 4v (cobra) t-45's are different then gt's because of electrical/manual pick ups, i believe you can swap the tail shaft housings and be ok.

OP
OP
S

slo1

Reaction score