Buying my neighboors GT !?

lunchtime

Reaction score
so my neighboor has a 97gt for sale and offered it to me before putting it on the market (my car was stolen 2 weeks ago)

so the details

97' gt 5speed manual
black body with black leather interior
65k miles on the clock

my questions

1. are there any things I should look out for ? known problems with that year / make
2. he had some problems with a "coil pack" in the past but has been replaced (could this be a sign of bad things to come?)

i am a total newb to the 4.6 mustang scene and my goal is to try to learn alittle before making the purchase
if any more details are needed i will gladly post accordingly!

thanks in advance

Millzenator

Reaction score
lunch-

Sounds like a nice car.. That's great mileage. Mustangs are really very good cars. Like the 5.0 motor, the 4.6 has proven to be a very sturdy platform for many Blue Oval vehicles. The leaking intake manifold is the only major item that comes to mind. Look at the crossover right behind the altenator, and if it's aluminum, it's either been updated with a "leak proof" NPI (non-performance improved.... the 96-98 Mustangs had these engines) intake manifold or has a PI intake on it. I wouldn't worry about a coil pack problem. They very rarely fail, and a used replacement is cheap to find and a cinch to put on. BTW, what is the price for the car???

Someone else chime in on apparent or common issues lunch may need to look out for???

OP
OP
L

lunchtime

Reaction score
still talking it over abit (might need tires) 5500-6000 i think

Ender

Reaction score