deck install

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by bmcgc, May 20, 2015.

  1. bmcgc

    bmcgc Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    edit by ttocs: I pulled all of your info out of that post so it can be easier to help.

    I think I will pull it out and stick the storage bin in its place.

    Will the radio still work if I unplug the CD player? Its not a Mach system.
     
  2. bmcgc

    bmcgc Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Is that a plug that I take out of the CD player and put in the radio?
     
  3. bmcgc

    bmcgc Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,426
    Likes Received:
    2,457
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    the power harness might very well be the same but its doubtful that the mach harness will be the same. It would not be a big deal to make a harness to go between the deck/mach harness though.
     
  5. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    It's not a mach system
     
  6. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    I am very curious if it'll work
     
  7. bmcgc

    bmcgc Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    My oem system is a non mach. It has the AM/FM/CASS and CD player. It has an amp mounted on the hump under the CD player.

    If I want to remove the CD player and install the cubby, what do I do about getting sound to the speakers.

    If I pull the radio and CD player and install an aftermarket, what do I do to bypass the factory amp? How many ohms are the factory speakers?

    Im pretty confused as you can tell.
     
  8. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    I believe you can use this, I just put this in my car this wknd. It bypasses the amp. I had a non-mach, but w/o the cd player. Idk what the factory speakers are, might as well throw some 6x8's in there, they're cheap.

    This is where the black connector goes. The connector feeds the speakers from the factory amp, unplug it and plug the new harness in (shown below).
    http://www.cardomain.com/ridepost/6244587/18739347/1994-ford-mustang/
    [​IMG]