Do i have all the parts for the 5 speed swap?

Discussion in '96-04 - 2V Specific' started by 68mustang5.0, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Im gonna perform a 5 speed swap soon, and this is all what I have right now:

    Trans
    clutch, flywheel, pressure plate
    shifter
    trans harness
    throw out fork
    TO bearing
    pedals ( got them from a V6, gonna remodify my stock brake pedal to work on that assy.


    I know im missing a few things, like the boot and shifter knob, but what else do i need to know beforehand? Thanks guys!
     
  2. riored96gt

    riored96gt Active Member

    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal 909
    Check drive shaft length.
    Fox's needed to change the crossmember and trans mount if I remember rightly.
    Cable.
    Trim ring for console.
     
  3. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    im getting a adjustable quadrant from steeda, and i already have the shift boot and all those small stuffs....is the driveshaft length that much more different from the auto to the manual?
     
  4. Dalamar

    Dalamar Legend Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    13,863
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    Cool, let's see if I remember you'll also need the bellhousing, shorter driveline, tranny mount bushings,
    clutch cable, and probably want a quadrent adjuster. you'll also need to redo/rewire the speedo.
    The park interrupt/neutral safety also needs to be rewired to the clutch, right now it should be on the auto shifter, if it's like mine.

    good luck :)
     
  5. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Got the bellhousing, why does the speedo have to be rewired or redone?

    Also, how would i rewire the park interrupt/ neutral safety into the clutch?
     
  6. Dalamar

    Dalamar Legend Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    13,863
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    well, I don't know which tranny your talking about, but you'll have to check on the speedo.
    It was different on mine - R470 to TKO500.

    I didn't do the interrupt wiring, my tiner did, but I think it will still reach, you just gotta rerought it.
     
  7. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    the stock tranny that comes on 96 GT;s. thats the one I have. I have the tranny harness for it too. Do i need to change the ECU for the trans?
     
  8. Dalamar

    Dalamar Legend Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    13,863
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    There again, I'm not sure - I'd have to ask my tuner on that one.

    I'd think yes, since it's electronically controlled.
    - recommend calling someone and asking.
     
  9. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    i read somewhere that the 96-98 ECU's are like the fox ECU's where you can use any ECU with any trans.
     
  10. 96sohc

    96sohc Active Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Are you putting a T45 back in?
    You can reflash your stock auto computer to think its a manual.
    Don't forget you need a new block plate, the automatic and manuals are different.
    For the speedo problem, buy a Dallas Mustang Speedcal.
     
  11. Dalamar

    Dalamar Legend Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    13,863
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    you'll also need the shift boot.
    the upper and lower are 2 different parts - lower's not cheap - thanks ford.
     
  12. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    How do you reflash the ECU to think its a manual? I have a stock trans from a 96 GT.
     
  13. 96sohc

    96sohc Active Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    You need a tuner to reflash it, using SCT software.
    If anyone finds where to buy the lower shift boots, I'd like to know because I can't find them.
     
  14. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    ah ok, like i can just grab any SCT tuner? Do i have to have someone with experience tune it for me?
     
  15. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    also can i just use the stock auto ECU for now?
     
  16. Hybridbird

    Hybridbird Active Member

    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    You can use an auto ECU for auto or 5 speed,because the 5 speed doesnt need ecu control but you will get a check engine light due to lack of input from the tranny.On the other hand,an auto will only work with an auto ECU.
     
  17. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    ah, because of no input from the tranny, does that adversely affect the motor? Someone told me the car will run like trash because the ECU will load up the motor because its looking for a TC.


    On the other hand, what kind of quadrant and adjuster would you guys reccommend? For sure im using a stock cable. lol
     
  18. 96sohc

    96sohc Active Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    I don't think an Xcal handheld will be able to flash an auto to think its a manual, I think its part of the software
    that the tuner's actually use; although I could be wrong, its happened before.
     
  19. 68mustang5.0

    68mustang5.0 Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    ah ok, is the T45 the same as a T-5? I read somewhere it is in a way, cause i got a driveshaft from a 95 GT.
     
  20. voidfinger

    voidfinger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    ok someone told me that i could just use my 98 gt auto computer and no need to reflash it? will that hurt my motor or power in any way? just wondering. I know a hand held can turn the auto function off. but i don't got that kinda money right now. thanks