"GoPro Hero"

Discussion in 'General Multimedia' started by Orange 94, Nov 8, 2014.

  1. Orange 94

    Orange 94 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    387
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    Surprisingly it didn't fill my memory card. only like 14gb out of 16gb.

    Time lapse lasted from 11:27pm-3:07am

    So I get 3.5 hrs of time lapse or like 2-2.5hrs of video depending on the setting.
     
  2. ttocs

    ttocs Post Whore

    Messages:
    25,807
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    so unless you are needing something longer then the 2.5 hours on video for your time lapse take it with video instead and you will be happier with the quality.
     
  3. Orange 94

    Orange 94 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    387
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    I find it weird that it doesn't pick up the LED city lights. Like it was super bright out last night, didn't catch any of it. Maybe its because the light is so faint and focused.

    It catches the old style lights though.
     
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Post Whore

    Messages:
    25,807
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    leds on signs and such while they look like they are on all the time, they are actually flashing fast enough that your eyes don't pick it up. If you ever see footage of old CRT tvs often you would see the screen half refreshed in between images and often would show have the screen grey. Video mode will help this but you will still find leds that you know were on that will look like they are off.
     
  5. Ballistic

    Ballistic Active Member

    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Where you doing photo time lapse or video? Sometimes i get better results doing video, and on photo mode it depends on where its metering, i have owned every gopro from the SD to the hero3+, i need to get a Hero4 black that long exposure mode looks amazing and from my drone at night i think would look even more badass.
     
  6. Orange 94

    Orange 94 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    387
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    You think LED street lights would flash fast enough for the camera not to pick them up?
    Halogen and other lights would also flicker no? because of the 60HZ AC. I know if you go to europe or other places that use slower AC you can see their lights flicker.

    How much difference is there with the LED
     
  7. ttocs

    ttocs Post Whore

    Messages:
    25,807
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    your confusing the AC voltage freq with the current. AC voltage lights are current driven and yes while the voltage freq fluctuates, the current that lights them remains constant. Not sure what lights you have seen flickering in Europe I didn't notice them myself when I was there. LEDs in signs and such are driven by led driver circuits that flash them fast enough that your eyes don't notice but it allows them to last much longer. Now you can get a 12v led and connect it to your battery and take all the pics you want as it is always on, just will not last as long as one being driven by the proper circuit. The only way to have your camera catch it is to speed up how many frames/sec
     
  8. Orange 94

    Orange 94 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    387
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    ttocs do you know if you can charge a go pro while recording?

    I got this portable power supply thing that uses both usb and micro usb ports. Since the HERO has its charging port on the back and is accessible with the skeleton casing, wondering if I can shoot longer videos if the power supply plugged in?

    I'd try it but the go pro is at my other place right now.
     
  9. ttocs

    ttocs Post Whore

    Messages:
    25,807
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I have a external battery that I use for longer shots when I need it. There is no problem about having it plugged in for power while recording.
     
  10. whiplash473

    whiplash473 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,251
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Finally picked up a Hero today. Looking forward to putting it to good use this year with my usual random activities but for now I think it's gonna get some Civic action since it's still winter.
     
  11. whiplash473

    whiplash473 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,251
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Location:
    Northern IL
    GoPro Studio is the glitchiest program I think I've ever used. Is it just me? I can't even import a video without it crashing half the time.
     
  12. Orange 94

    Orange 94 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    387
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    Works fine for me? Well I haven't used it lately, been using the canon. Well use the go pro once summer comes, if it comes.
     
  13. whiplash473

    whiplash473 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,251
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Well I learned today about keeping the camera out of the wind line of the vehicle. I recorded nothing but wind noise after 20mph. I don't have any mounts yet so I just closed the base of the camera up in the sunroof, terrible placement for the mic.
     
  14. Orange 94

    Orange 94 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    387
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    Which backing are you using?

    Get a suction cup mount
     
  15. WKT

    WKT New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island SC
    We went to Best buy today to find my wife a new laptop and I got a GoPro 4 Silver edition. I haven't opened it yet and after reading thru this thread I'm thinking I might should take it back. I got it for Mustang Week this year but seems a lot of people have problems with them. Any other suggestions or is this the best camera?
     
  16. ttocs

    ttocs Post Whore

    Messages:
    25,807
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I really could not figure it out and ended up using windows movie maker or power director which I paid for.

    Short of getting an external mic to run back into my interior I have not found many places that the wind noise doesn't drown everything out

    I have loved mine and had great luck but I am running hero 3 blacks. If you have issues don't be afraid to try and contact them when I did no shit the phone rang 3 minutes later and they walked me through it.
     
  17. whiplash473

    whiplash473 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,251
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Location:
    Northern IL
    The open one (skeleton.) I'm gonna pick up a suction mount for sure. It seems like a no-brainer since most of my footage will be a vehicle of some kind. Cars, dirtbike, etc. So I'm gonna get a suction mount and a handlebar mount.

    I don't see why you'd want to take it back. I love mine so far, just keep it out of direct wind. Youtube has thousands of GoPro car videos that sound just fine. It's just about finding a good spot for it.

    Good to know, thanks.
     
  18. WKT

    WKT New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island SC
    I'll have to get it out and play with. Thanks
     
  19. whiplash473

    whiplash473 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,251
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Location:
    Northern IL
    My camera splits videos at 17min 34sec and makes a new one when recording. I was recording for about 45mins today and I have three videos even though I was recording continuously. Is this normal? Is there a setting I'm missing?
     
  20. ttocs

    ttocs Post Whore

    Messages:
    25,807
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    its normal.