Help with GT40P and cam selection

GeeTeeFiveOh

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have been running an E-303 cam for a couple years. It felt pretty good but never made it to a dyno. My car decided that it was time for me to rethink the cam thing ( h clip popped off lifters which ate a lifter and the cam .)

I'm looking for something more aggressive that will produce more power but still be reasonable for my daily highway commute with my 2:73 gears. I've looked at the Anderson B-31, N-41 and N-412 cams and can't make up my mind yet. There is a guy over on EECTUNING that makes 310 RWHP on an untouched gt40p explorer longblock with a typhoon intake B-21 cam and supporting valve train. Those are the kind of results I'm aiming for.

My GT40p's have stock sized valves with a nice 3 angle valve job, good bowl work and a decent porting using a flow bench. This was done by a very reputable local machinist. I wish I had the full specs but I lost it all years ago. I'm running 1.6 FRPP RR's and upgraded valve springs (dont remember specs but I was told they are plenty stiff for an E303) The rest of the pertinent motor details should be in my signature.

How much lift / duration can I get away with these heads on a 93 shortblock ? Will valve springs that work good with an E303 be fine to use on the cams I have been looking at? Any other considerations or suggestions? I don't want to order a cam and find out that I dont have piston to valve clearance etc etc. I'm leaning towards the B-31 since its similar to the B-21 using my 1.6 RR. Its got a bit over .540 lift tho

Thanks !!

chris91

Reaction score
If you want the most out of your setup go with a custom cam done by Ed Curtis @ Flotech. You wont get better results from a off the shelf cam.

OP
OP
GeeTeeFiveOh

GeeTeeFiveOh

Reaction score