Is my intake manifold original?

garrittpwl

Reaction score
So I'm new to the mustang game.

I have just recently acquired a 96 gt with 109k on it. After some research I've read that these are prone to leaky intakes.

Somewhere (cant find where) I read that the stock Intake has a plastic crossover. My car has aluminum though the bolts don't look like they've ever been touched? Can anyone enlighten me?

20160525_181231_zps5gse5yiq.jpg

20160525_181239_zpsm2u6pfdm.jpg

Burninriverdiver

Reaction score
I had an aluminum crossover on my 96 before I swapped to a PI manifold. I could be wrong, but I believe some came from the factory with the aluminum crossover in the later production 96 year.

OP
OP
garrittpwl

garrittpwl

Reaction score
I had an aluminum crossover on my 96 before I swapped to a PI manifold. I could be wrong, but I believe some came from the factory with the aluminum crossover in the later production 96 year.

My production is Sept of 95 according to my VIN label.

96blak54

Staff
Reaction score
Your intake does have an aluminum crossover. That means youre ok and wont be prone to the notorious crossover crack. With a better pic I could tell if its npi or pi and possible dorman replacement. The plug wires are autozone special. ..lol...I can see they have been changed. And that oil cap doesnt look original. ....I could be wrong

ttocs

Post Whore
Reaction score
I remember being amazed to hear that the modulars had plastic parts on their intakes. Being all pushrods its something I never considered. Sure its great for heat soak there is just no way the longevity could match.

DropTopPony

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
You most likely have a factory recall replacement intake. No 4.6 2V Mustang came from the factory with an aluminum crossover until like 2001 when all the failures were costing Ford money.

DropTopPony

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score