Removing the ac

Kornnut

Reaction score
How many have done this. The previous owner of my car took the pulley off my compressor and just ran a short belt. I am going to remove it all. Anyone got any tips or pics?

Downshift

Reaction score
I have been debating doing this for a few months now. Supposed to save like 35 lbs or something and I know it makes working on things much easier not to mention cleaner looking. 100+ Summers and black car tend to make the decision tough though.

If there is still refridgerant in the system all I can tell you is be careful not to inhale it or get it on your face when you release it because it will freeze your eyes out or the air in your lungs....

916_5.0

Reaction score
Well i didnt do it myself the guy who had the car before me did it. He took everything off though like everysingle thing that was part of the ac unit is off my car. I personaly think it looks so much cleaner, not to mention how much eaiser it is to work on things with all that gone. I can post some pics if you want to see what it looks like with no ac.

Reaction score
If you take out your AC I suggest wearing long sleeves and goggles, because if there is any freon left in there, and it gets in your eye, it can blind you. But talking out the AC is so easy. You just need fuel line disconnect tools.

hipo50mustang

Reaction score
I replaced mine last summer when the clutch on the pully locked up. it was cheaper to replace the whole thing that just the pully clutch mechanism. not too bad, the only thing was the tubing was a little tight, but if you are planing on removing it all together, there should be no problem. Just remember that in most places (like where i live) there are fines from the EPA for releasing the freon into the air and you have to have permits to mess with the AC of a car, but I still did mine on my own anyway with very little freon leakage. sorry i dont have pics. ???

OP
OP
K

Kornnut

Reaction score
916_5.0 said: