lincoln mk8 engine.

copmagnet

Reaction score
I'm looking at a lincoln mk8 engine for 500, all details from seller are its in great shape, low miles..

I'm tempted to go buy it and get a cobra intake and throw it in my 96GT.

If I go get this motor, what all will be needed to put a cobra intake on it? should I make it a stroker? like, stroke it to a 5.1l? sorry if this seems out of the blue or retarded, I'm not a super car guy, but i'm trying to get there. only 17, but I have been building motors for two years now.

thanks for the help

-copmagnet

MustangChris

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
well, what are you going to put it in?

also, as long as youre using a 96-98 cobra intake manifold, it shouldnt be hard at all. i suggest IMRC deletes while you're there to simplify the swap. if you can get the OEM IMRCs to work, more power to ya!

OP
OP
C

copmagnet

Reaction score
I was planning forged rods, pistons, cranks, port polish heads, cobra intake, and down the road get blown.

*edit* I was planing irmc deletes.

OP
OP
C

copmagnet

Reaction score
into my 96GT. my final goals are really just to have a nice, badass reliable motor. for now, N/A is fine, i'm only looking for 320ish HP, but I want the option to add FI down the road.

I have both 4.6liter engine and how to rebuild 4.6/5.4 from barness and noble, both very helpfull, but some of the math I don't quite understand. compression ratio was a little bleh to me.

what would I need to hit a 10.1 compression ratio with this motor?

MustangChris

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
hm, i'd look into what kind of computer compatability issues youll run into.

i mean, it has an aluminum block, which is good. and B heads, which are good. for $500.00 i'd just throw it in and troubleshoot all the bugs out. then its ready to come out for overhaul/boost/n2o whenever....

MustangChris

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score