Mach460 Head Unit Noob Question

anton_lor

Reaction score
Hello!
I maybe have a dumb question regarding the stock Mach460 System from 96 paired with an aftermarket head unit. I am new to the whole stereo section, so please excuse me.
Can another head unit have too much output wattage or voltage for the Mach460 system?
So if I buy a head unit with a peak power of 100w x4 and an RMS of 45w x4, would that be too much for the Mach460 amps to handle (or would it even be wasted since the amps of the system are used and the output wattage of the radio gets amplified)?
Does it also matter if the RCA output voltage is 5v, 4v or just 2v?
Thank you for your help!

ttocs

Post Whore
Reaction score
well first off, if you are having problems with your battery dying it is probably one of the mach amps killing it. If not then we can move on other than to say the stock speakers are at the end of their life as well and replacing them and the deck fixes the problem of dealing with the amps that do not like aftermarket products so much.

no you can't put too much power into the amps in wattage from the speaker outputs, or voltage from the rca out. The stock amps were basically designed around the old radios so they do not use a standard rca style low voltage signal like most do. Get one with the highest rca voltage output if you are going to use the rca harness.

OP
OP
A

anton_lor

Reaction score
Thank you for the quick reply! I know, many regard the Mach 460 System as a bad sounding one, but I think it sounds quite good. How huge is the difference between a 50w x4, 2,5V pre amp out Radio and a 100w x4 5v pre amp out Radio?

ttocs

Post Whore
Reaction score
it use to be top top of the line sound for a factory system back in the day. It isn't bad anymore but again the problems with the amps both killing batteries and not playing well with aftermarket gear leads to them getting yanked more often than not. The mach system likes the higher output decks.

OP
OP
A

anton_lor