Speedometer / Odometer Not Working. Read entire post.

Rtfm

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Also, from what little I could find on the 94-98 speedometers, the chip in question seems to have some programming with it. Being a Signetics chip, I was wondering about that. Seems I am probably correct. If I can get the chips in hand, they wouldn’t have the proper programming if they weren’t surplus NOS that Ford used. There were a few different speedometers in our narrow year range just in the year, engine, and max velocity, so finding even a NOS with the correct parameters is almost zero. I went ahead and just bought a same year/ model used cluster for mine today so I can get back on the road.
 

Connie

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
176
Reaction score
103
Location
Acworth, GA
I hope I'm not missing something in this thread. But, does the Speedo Needle in the Gauge Cluster try to move, or bounce at all? If it does, it may not be an Electrical Issue. A Speedo Gear can look good on the outside, but the HOLE the Cable goes into, may have stripped the inside part of the Gear itself. BOB.
 

Rtfm

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
The speedometer in 94 and up has no gear. It is electronic. The previously posted pictures are the speedometer module.
 

Connie

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
176
Reaction score
103
Location
Acworth, GA
I should've known. Wasn't sure exactly what year the change took place. I'm sorry about that.
 

Ryan Lawson

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
21
Reaction score
2
Ryan, check the cruise control function to see if the signal gets to the ECM. The signal from the speed sensor goes straight to pins 11 and 12. See if you can get a low resistance (less than 1 ohm) path against a ground from pin 11. Check with an AC voltmeter across pins 11 and 12 when the car is in motion to check for a signal voltage. It should read over 1.5 volts or better with a forward speed of 10 mph or more. If you have no signal between those pins, check pin 12 and a good known ground for the AC signal from the speed sensor. If no voltage, then remove the sensor from the transmission and spin it up using a drill and you should get 6-9 volts out of it easily. If no voltage that way, the sensor is bad.
I can walk you through testing the speedometer on the bench, too. If you have signal across pins 11 and 12, then your speedometer should work if you are getting power from fuse 8 to the switched power (pin 16) and constant power through pin 13.

Ok, i'll try and check it out. I've been working a good bit of overtime and I haven't had much time to mess with it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Ryan Lawson

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
21
Reaction score
2
Update: My speedometer is fixed. I checked all wiring and found no issues. I was having my car tuned at a local shop so I asked them to check behind me on the speedometer. They discovered that it was the circuit board like I suspected. They put one from a old speedometer in and fixed it. Thank you for all the help.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Rtfm

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Same here, Ryan. Got mine back on the road tonight. I had to use a scavenged speedometer board from a donor ‘95 cluster. I changed out the bad 10 uF polar capacitor that was also failing in my old one, as well. It seems most of these old electrolytic caps are going bad in these 25 year old vehicles. The bipolar caps were good on my old one and the replacement. Hoping to get a few more years out of this one. At least I have replacements for the other instruments now.
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
74,993
Messages
1,454,234
Members
13,628
Latest member
reedj304

Members online

No members online now.
Top