Autometer elec. water temp gauge- where to mount sender??? HELP!!!!

Discussion in '96-04 - 2V Specific' started by MoonlightGT, May 25, 2007.

  1. MoonlightGT

    MoonlightGT Member

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Windsor Ontario Canada
    i bought a autometer electric water temp gauge (part# 4337) i just want to know the best and easiest place to mount the temp sensor(sender whatever u wanna call it). im not really sure where but i want it to be accurate. Anybody have one of these? were did u mount yours? thanks for the help
     
  2. scarface

    scarface Guest

    you could t the sender on the manifold, you could t the heater core line, or you could just install it in the hole next to the drivers side motor mount.
     
  3. powerfreak

    powerfreak New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    If you don't care if your factory gauge still works or not, you can pull out one of the factory temp senders. There's 2 in the coolant crossover where the thermostat is...pull out the one that's on the pass side and install the autometer sender there.
     
  4. blackstangs281

    blackstangs281 New Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Thats where mine is, but I used a T so the factory one would work also
     
  5. 96 blue moon

    96 blue moon Active Member

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    When I installed my electric autometer gauge in my car I installed my temp sending unit on the heater hose. Autometer sells a temp sending unit kit that you can install on your heater hose and It is very easy to install. All you have to do is cut the inlet side of the heater hose and install this 5/8 brass heater hose adapter that they sell and then just screw your temp sending unit right on top of the brass connector. Very easy to do and it looks good when your done with the install. I have had mine on for years with no problem. I hope this helps you out with the install.
     
  6. scarface

    scarface Guest

    only one of those sensors is for the temp gauge. The other is the sensor for the ECU.... Your post is correct, but I didnt want the way you worded it to mislead him into thinking there were TWO gauge sensors.
     
  7. powerfreak

    powerfreak New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2007

    OK, but they are both temp senders...just one goes to the gauge.
     
  8. scarface

    scarface Guest

    agreed, just didnt know if he would know the difference.
     
  9. zyzygy

    zyzygy New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
  10. scarface

    scarface Guest

  11. MoonlightGT

    MoonlightGT Member

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Windsor Ontario Canada
    thanks guys, does anyone have any pics that they can post? im not sure which heater hose to t into and where. some pics would help thanks alot
     
  12. 96 blue moon

    96 blue moon Active Member

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    You want to tap into the inlet side of the heater hose so you will get a accurate temp reading. The inlet hose is the one that has a crimping ring around the hose to cut back on pressure for the heater core at high RPM. If you tap into the outlet hose your temp gauge will give you a tempature reading coming out of the heater core. I will try to send you a picture of my set up that I have installed on my heater hose very soon.
     
  13. 96 blue moon

    96 blue moon Active Member

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Here is the picture of where I tapped into my heater hose. I hope this helps you out on your install.

    [attachment deleted by admin]
     
  14. MoonlightGT

    MoonlightGT Member

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Windsor Ontario Canada
    hey thanks blue moon ! im gonna do the same thing . i hooked mine up this morning but i just mounted the new sensor in the old sensor location. but im gonna do it your way so i can have both gauges working. thanks!!
     
  15. 96 blue moon

    96 blue moon Active Member

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Not a problem. I'm glad I could help.
     
  16. scarface

    scarface Guest

    wow...that looks pretty good man..THanks for the info and pic :)
     
  17. 96 blue moon

    96 blue moon Active Member

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    I hope it helps you out. That is very easy to install and it don't cost that much.
     
  18. scarface

    scarface Guest

    thats a great mod, and it is the first time Ive heard of it :)
     
  19. 96 blue moon

    96 blue moon Active Member

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    It was very easy to install. Just make sure you cut the inlet side of the heater hose when you install the fitting. Did you already purchase the adapter from autometer?
     
  20. McCloud

    McCloud Active Member

    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    Johnson City, TN
    I like the heater hose adapter way, but my temp gauge hasnt worked since Ive owned the car. So I just put the autometer sensor in the place of the passenger side sensor.