Clock pod - changing display to red?

Discussion in 'Exterior and Interior' started by riored4v, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. riored4v

    riored4v Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    Working on changing all the display lights to red and the only thing I have left at this point is the clock pod. Is there a way to do this?

    I've seen posts about removing the tint (?) and it becomes blue, but I wasn't sure about going red.

    Any ideas or info would be great.
     
  2. EVILSN

    EVILSN Active Member

    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    I actually convert the dash clock to a digital volt meter. I've done it to a few now I'll see if I can get a better picture later[​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using My dick
     
  3. riored4v

    riored4v Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    Pretty cool idea! I already have a volt meter otherwise I might have ended up copying that lol
     
  4. Ferocious

    Ferocious Legend SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,255
    Likes Received:
    592
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    Use the red tint film from a pair of paper 3D glasses.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. riored4v

    riored4v Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    Thanks! Don't have a pair of those but I'll stop at a hobby store to try and find some film. How hard is it to take apart the pod to install the film?
     
  6. Ferocious

    Ferocious Legend SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,255
    Likes Received:
    592
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    I didn't actually take it apart. I just popped the whole clock assembly off which takes 2 seconds. I then put a little bit of glue/adhesive to the film and covered the display. Then just use an exacto knife to cut off any excess.
     
  7. ranger56528

    ranger56528 Active Member

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Location:
    West central Mn
    I've thought about trying to put a afr gauge in there like a pro comp if a person can take it apart and just put the digital part of the unit in there,anyone try? I could buy a cheep one I suppose and try it.
     
  8. riored4v

    riored4v Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Location:
    Aurora, CO

    Thanks. I'll give it a shot.