IAT sensor relocation for the Vortech?

Discussion in '94-95 5.0 - Specific' started by gnx547, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Your going to be running meth i would def relocate to the lower intake. .
     
  2. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,740
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    Sorry to thread-jack.

    Do you mean for a more accurate reading and do you mean the stocker or the aftermarket? The stock like I said the stocker is up by the maf, the aftermarket is actually going in the EGR hole in the upper which would obviously be a good 6" away from the meth nozzle which is in front of the TB.
     
  3. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    The stock iat.. forgot what lower intake you are running.. a lot lower intakes have a threated boss for it all ready since the fox have it there on the #5 runner.. you want to to read the cooled air.
     
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,740
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana

    using a 94 cobra lower and I don't know of any spots on the lower to put it. I could and would have when it was out as I drilled/tapped a 2nd hole for my gauges temp sensor so I could keep the stock gauge working. Maybe next time its out I will but for now shouldn't it be ok in the EGR hole?
     
  5. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    The 94 is not going to have it. . Yeah the egr hole would work..
     
  6. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Using the egr hole does the element come out far enough. .
     
  7. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,740
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    yea the sensor sticks out pretty far if I screw it in all the way and its just enough for the tip to be in the airflow. I have been slightly concerned with heat soak with this location but if it isn't any good it will not be hard to put a new plate on the egr hole and move it to a better location.
     
  8. Witzy0070

    Witzy0070 Active Member

    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Location:
    Montana
    No, mine is located where the yellow arrows point, underneath.

    [​IMG]

    My car runs like a raped ape.
     
  9. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
  10. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    A lil info on it. .
     
  11. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    The cobra intake tube is longer than the 94-95.. also the 94-95 is a crappy plastic one
     
  12. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Scott your making a new intake tube. You could get a threated insert welded and put it there.. switch to a metal sensor instead of plastic. .
     
  13. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,740
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    that would put the AIT directly next to the meth nozzle and if I am reading that link correctly it says the sn95 computer doesn't work as well as a fox computer with the ait in the lower?
     
  14. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Ahhh.. man.. i would stick with the iat after the nozzle..
    That be a good question for Michael plumer
     
  15. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    If you're using meth you want it in the runner. Period. And it's not a gauge.. Fuel and timing tables are directly calculated off of ect and iat readings. If my meth stops working and iats spike, my tune pulls timing.

    Kind of pointless to have a sensor if you aren't going to utilize it

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  16. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    I believe he is running a sensor for his gauge to monitor iat's
     
  17. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Reread the threat. Got that. Stock sensor should still go to the runner and the gauge sensor can go to the egr

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  18. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Thats what i would do. But the 94 cobra intake doesn't have a spot for it. He would have to drill and tap. Or switch lower.
     
  19. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Correct.

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  20. gnx547

    gnx547 Active Member

    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    I installed the IAT sensor and the car idles much better than before and no more code 53. The car will not run good when the car is cold, it starts right up and the idle is poor and rough but once it warms up it runs better. Now the service light is on for a code 14 and 19.[​IMG] Code 14 is pip signal and Code 19 pcm voltage regulator. When the car is running at operating temp it does not die. How do I go about diagnosing the pip signal and pcm voltage regulator? Is the distributor bad? What else could be the problem be?

    [​IMG]