Rear Wheel studs

Discussion in 'Drivetrain' started by the5.ohh, Jul 27, 2014.

  1. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Ok so I noticed from the different shops who have worked on the car and removed my rear wheels, 5-6 out of 10 studs are starting to strip. The lugs are tough to get on and off. So I'll be purchasing new studs. Question is, I'd like to go with ARP but I'm being told not to because they're longer than stock? I could honestly care less if the studs are longer. Heres the ARPs (link below), and I'm being told just get stock replacement ones? I'd rather buy the better and stronger set of studs, obviously being ARP. Anyone run these studs on the rear? Input please and dank ya
    http://m.americanmuscle.com/arp-rear-wheel-studs-9404.html
     
  2. slow90coupe

    slow90coupe Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    104
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Advance, NC
    Your axles will have to come out to put them in.
     
  3. g36 monkey

    g36 monkey Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    14,057
    Likes Received:
    539
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    They are longer to clear the different offset of drag wheels. Unless you run open ended lugs they might not fit on
     
  4. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Kidding right? Everyone who I've talked to says bang the old ones out, obviously remove the caliper and rotor. Put the stud thru, lug nut on and impact it on to seat it in. Nothing about pulling axles. Thats insane
     
  5. g36 monkey

    g36 monkey Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    14,057
    Likes Received:
    539
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    that too lol
     
  6. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Ah. Yeah that might be an issue since I don't use open ended lugs..
     
  7. RichV

    RichV Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    247
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    You would have to pull the axles. I just looked at my spare rear end, no disks on it, but the brake backing plates would be in the way of installing those.

    Go with a OE set from Ford. Make it easier.
     
  8. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    That makes me feel nautious.. Just had gears done..
     
  9. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    You DONT have to pull the axles to the do the studs.. I did mine in my driveway no axle pulling needed.. just grind down a tiny bit of the back of the stud and they fit fine, and it doesn't effect them at all. Just need to grind them enough to clear the abs ring.
     
  10. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,022
    Likes Received:
    138
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    pretty sure I replaced a stud once on the left rear without pulling an axle.....been awhile though
     
  11. Musturd

    Musturd Legend

    Messages:
    9,111
    Likes Received:
    598
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    If any of you guys actually read his post ... He's talking about installing 3" wheel studs ... And no you can't just nut them and thread them on like factory ones you gotta press them in ... They are hardened steel you'll just wreck the stud and seize a lug nut on the stud . Personally I would do the upgrade you can pull ur axles in about 30-45 mins .
     
  12. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Alright. one last question. Since I don't run open ended lugs, I'll go with stock studs. Since I'll be buying stock studs, I can just push them in and impact them on correct? I'm not touching the axles myself. They were literally just out the other day when I had the new gears put in. Didn't even think about the studs since I haven't had the wheels off in months..
     
  13. slow90coupe

    slow90coupe Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    104
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Advance, NC
    Yeah stock studs just slip right in. I impact mine in, I'm sure that's not the "correct" way, but it works every time.