01 Bullitt Gauge Cluster Overlay for 96-98?

Discussion in 'Exterior and Interior' started by Royal96, Apr 29, 2016.

  1. Royal96

    Royal96 Active Member

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Does this exist? I can't seem to find any aftermarket solutions in the 01 Bullitt style, only kind of similar.

    Will a factory Bullitt overlay work? I know I'd have to either cut a hole for the odometer or just leave it covered (Which honestly, as long as I own it, I don't have a problem with), but are there any other issues I'd run into? Any other differences between the 99-04 cluster and the 94-98 that I'm missing?
     
  2. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    You don't care to see your odometer?
     
  3. Royal96

    Royal96 Active Member

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Honestly, not really. The car itself is already on a newer engine, almost the entire front suspension has been rebuilt, and here in a couple weeks the entire rear will have been rebuilt. Hopefully by next spring, the boost ready motor will be ready to drop in.

    It's not a low mileage car, so it's not like the mileage is worth looking at. The odometer is reaching towards 160k right now. Honestly, once pretty much nothing original to the car is there, I'd rather not see 200,000 miles on the odometer if everything has closer to 40k.
     
  4. Royal96

    Royal96 Active Member

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Also, I did find a write-up on how to swap in the factory faces into an early SN95, but it involves finding the gauges (Which are often still a whole cluster and very expensive) and then cutting them to match the factory gauges, which I wouldn't mind doing if getting my hands on a set wouldn't cost me 250 bucks. I'll do it if I have to, but I'd rather find an aftermarket solution if possible.
     
  5. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    What about oil changes lol
     
  6. Royal96

    Royal96 Active Member

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I do them every 6 months. I always run full synthetic, so it's not like the whole "3000 mile" thing really applies anyways. If it did, I'd just use the trip odo to keep track.
     
  7. Thomas_W

    Thomas_W Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Capon Bridge, WV
  8. DropTopPony

    DropTopPony Administrator Staff Member Admin SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    15,342
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I remember JonBeast getting a Mach 1 or 04 Cobra cluster to work in his SN before he sold it. Might be easier to just use a Bullitt cluster.
     
  9. lwarrior1016

    lwarrior1016 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    5,650
    Likes Received:
    673
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    I ordered a Mach 1 custom overlay for my gauges. It looks like the Mach/Bullitt gauges but it is clear on the back so they light up white instead of blue tinted. Since then, I am thinking about doing a different setup......If you really want it we might be able to work something out.
     
  10. McCloud

    McCloud Active Member

    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    Johnson City, TN
    You're correct. He used a Mach 1 cluster. I will actually be doing the same thing in my car. I stopped by MPS on my way to Atlanta last weekend and scored a Mach 1 IUP cluster for $125...which is less than half of what they sell them for online.

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
     
  11. Royal96

    Royal96 Active Member

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Wait, so it's actually possible to swap a 99-04 whole cluster isbto a 96-98? When I looked it up before I basically found "the plugs are different, don't even try".

    Pics? This whole thing is kind of on the back burner right now since I'm trying to find a rust free roller to swap my car into, but I'd still be interested potentially.
     
  12. lwarrior1016

    lwarrior1016 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    5,650
    Likes Received:
    673
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    I didnt think you could swap the whole cluster because the odometer is digital and the gauges work on a completely different type of circuit than our. Thats why i went this route. Im thinking about changing mine because its easier for the megasquirt to work aftermarket gauges.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Royal96

    Royal96 Active Member

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Those look spot on. If you decide to go the aftermarket route, let me know.
     
  14. lwarrior1016

    lwarrior1016 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    5,650
    Likes Received:
    673
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    Ok I will.




    Im going aftermarket lol
     
  15. lwarrior1016

    lwarrior1016 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    5,650
    Likes Received:
    673
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    If you want me to I can put the bezel on it and take a picture so you can get a real feel for them.
     
  16. McCloud

    McCloud Active Member

    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    Johnson City, TN
    You can't swap the whole cluster in. Like mentioned above the wiring is different. You can however swap the gauge overlay and needles over to your stock cluster. Just cut out the digital trip odometer under the tach,cut out a hole for your odometer under the speedo, cut and swap the dummy lights section out and then put everything back together.

    Cost effective? Probably not. I went down to MPS looking to leave with a set of Mach 1 seats but they didn't have any in stock at the time so I left with the Mach 1 cluster.
     
  17. Frank.JD.Perez

    Frank.JD.Perez Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Pleasanton/Hayward, CA
    Doesn't alex302 have an 03/04 mach cluster? I think it's possible to switch them over but you literally have to rewire EVERYTHING
     
  18. lwarrior1016

    lwarrior1016 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    5,650
    Likes Received:
    673
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    [MENTION=13494]alex302[/MENTION] has a Mach 1 wrapped in a sn95 body. He did rewire everything........and replace everything.
     
  19. g36 monkey

    g36 monkey Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    14,057
    Likes Received:
    539
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    Lol Bingo. He has a New edge wiring from headlight to tail light
     
  20. Frank.JD.Perez

    Frank.JD.Perez Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Pleasanton/Hayward, CA
    :pedobear: