botls vs studs

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ttocs, Oct 26, 2014.

  1. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I am getting everything together now to put the motor together and from what I have heard its better to use studs over bolts when you can? I would like to use studs on the intake but I cant' seem to find any that have a 1/2 - 3/8" longer to allow for the spacer I need to allow for my heads. Anyone know if they make them and where to get them?
     
  2. ElrodKTPQ_89

    ElrodKTPQ_89 Legend

    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Location:
    Crossett, AR
    I've heard of people just using all thread for the intake if they can't find long enough bolts. Just take a measurement on length and cut it and use lock washers and nuts.
     
  3. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I am actually replacing a piece of all thread and was just hoping to do it right this time. I sent an email to arp last night hopefully I will get a good anser back.
     
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    a little surprised that arp replied back that they do not make anything for it. Darn..
     
  5. ElrodKTPQ_89

    ElrodKTPQ_89 Legend

    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Location:
    Crossett, AR
    That's surprising. I just happened to get lucky when I swapped intakes and found the right length bolts for the two middle holes in the cobra upper. If I had been using any size spacer then I would be exactly where you are now.
     
  6. 1bad95

    1bad95 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    I used all thread on mine on my 95 with no problems

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  7. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I had a piece of threaded rod in there when I took it out but with the vortech going on it I was hoping to replace/upgrade every bolt on the top end. I already have a arp head bolt kit, and I am pretty sure they make a lower intake stud kit and just hoped the upper had something to go with. Anyone know if you can piecemeal the studs together if I have the lengths of them all?
     
  8. Slipperman

    Slipperman Member

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
  9. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    what is all-thread? same as ready rod?
     
  10. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    threaded rod/all thread/ready rod I am pretty sure is all the same thing just a threaded rod from one end to the other. While it works the same as a stud I can't help but think not being heat treated and such that it can't be as strong.
     
  11. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    They have some heat treated studs I will probably order them and cut them to length. Thanks.

    What are the threads on the intake bolts?
     
  12. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    I got studs for my lower intake. .on the 5.0.
     
  13. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
  14. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
  15. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    I didn't get it as a kit.. went to a fastenall. . And bought them. . It was cheaper. .
     
  16. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I guess I could cut a few more pieces off for the lower.
     
  17. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
  18. 95opal

    95opal Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    You dont need anything special for the upper as its only torqued to 18-24ftlbs. ARP will have the lowers but uppers are nothing special. If your worried grade 8 studs can be sourced just about anywhere
     
  19. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,459
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    not in the crappy little town I live in I end up ordering more little/simple crap then I would like too.
     
  20. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Ill sell you mine.. im going to switch to a 12 point stainless bolt..