Cams

MadStang

Reaction score
Let me preface this by saying, I'm still learning about modulars and am just trying to build info on what I need.

I'm swapping in my custom grind cams in the next couple of months, and am wondering what I need or should upgrade while I've got everything off to swap in Cams. The car has 60k miles so things like the timing chain and tensioners will probably go out soon...

My plan is to swap the Cams in, the required valve spring upgrade, and since I have a Windsor block, installed Comp adjustable cam gears so I can degree the cams and make sure I have no PTV clearance issues.

Any other recommendations to look into?

Ninety8stang

Reaction score
Bullitt5339 said:
Do valve stem seals at the same time.

definitely do valve stem seals if possible. Your timing components such as tensioners and crank gears should be okay to reuse. I would go ahead and replace the timing chains. I just purchased a set of Trickflows off of summit for pretty cheap and they look like a damn good part. Make sure you do your research and find a set of cams that isnt going to require valve releifs if you dont plan on pulling the heads off. Me and Duffy are running (degreed) Comp XE270's with a 234/238 duration at .550 lift. These cams degreed is about as radical as you can go without having piston notches so make sure when you are choosing a cam that you know will give you your valve clearance.

OP
OP
MadStang

MadStang

Reaction score
Ninety8stang said:
Bullitt5339 said:
Do valve stem seals at the same time.