4v build q's

97Junkstang_cobra

Reaction score
I'm new and a got a few questions. I've worked on mod motors before but I'm no master mechanic by any means and I wanted to see some opinions. Ok I got a 97 cobra with 150k miles planning on doing a near complete refresh. The motor may or may not have a thrown timing chain I'm going to look at it this weekend, either way the motor has to go. I'm planning on a single turbo build and thought, could I not buy a cheap lincoln mark 8 engine swap the forged crank in, keep my Intake cams from the cobra (since the exhaust side is the same) keep my intake manifold port the heads. Then pull the mk8 rotating assemble throw some forged rods and pistons up in there install the turbo kit. tune and crank? Will the t45's bellhousing mount up to this engine? I plan on getting a promotion built t45, and doing a 31 spline rear end. Sorry if I sound dumb I know a little less about this car my last one was an 03 blown gt. Also planned on selling the block and small stuff from the 97 engine to recover what I would have in the lincoln engine.

MustangChris

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
no problem man.

if you're planning on going single turbo, keep your heads.
keep your cobra cams.
keep your engine block.
keep your crank.

that being said, all you want to replace is the rods/pistons. Refresh your heads. Degree your cams.

I suggest a t45soure T45. I've only heard good things about them. Promotion may make a good product as well, I've just never met anyone who used them.

if you do decide to use a lincoln motor (which wouldnt make any sense, to be honest) the rear-wheel drive type will bolt up to your bell housing. the FWD may not (they have different motor mount styles anyways, so you couldnt use a FWD lincoln block...)