Need to get my bumper back to matching...

GMUSSTN

Reaction score
So my '94 Vert in Rio Red looks kinda dumb right now--my bumper is fading to this sorta purple color and I'd like to know what combination of techniques and compounds are recommended to bring it back to life. I'm kinda new to detailing but am very ready to use this car as my guinea pig until I save up enough to get it repainted down the road.

Here's a pic so you can kinda see what I mean (i'd also like to get rid of those paint smudges as well...not sure where they came from):

IMG_20120511_202132.jpg

Sinned83

Reaction score
Do you have or know anyone with a rotary buffer?

OP
OP
G

GMUSSTN

Reaction score
I have one on loan from a friend of my dad's, and my friend has a decent D/A polisher. I have the tools, just need to know the recommended techniques and--more importantly--the recommended products to use to polish the color back to match.

So far I've heard good things about Meguiar's ColorX but don't know much beyond that.

whiplash473

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
get it sprayed......that clearcoat is fawked......plus the scrapes aint going away....not those at least..they looks like good ones

OP
OP
G

GMUSSTN

Reaction score
Eh I'm trying to hold off until next summer when I can get the whole thing sprayed. Just want to see if I can bring it back at least a little bit. I've heard that some colorX and about 3 hours of my life can at least bring it some of the way back. As for the scrapes I can't really tell if they're in there or just left-on paint.

I figure if I screw it up with the buffer I can just get it sprayed and I'm no worse off.

OP
OP
G

GMUSSTN

Reaction score
A lot of the scraping along the bottom was caked on dirt. This was right after I bought the car and hadn't had a chance to really wash it yet. I'll get some close-ups tomorrow if it's sunny out.

I can't tell if the clear is failing or if it's just heavy oxidization.

OP
OP
G

GMUSSTN

Reaction score