Where would you mount this QH cable?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by white95, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,378
    Likes Received:
    2,697
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    I wanted to utilize the bulkhead fitting to "permanently" install my QH chip and stop leaving the computer in the floor board. It's been there for a few years now :rofl: In true hot rodder fashion, I used a thin aluminum data plate from a Crouse-Hinds explosion proof switch box to fashion a mount.
     
  2. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,378
    Likes Received:
    2,697
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,378
    Likes Received:
    2,697
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    [​IMG]
     
  4. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,378
    Likes Received:
    2,697
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    This I like:

    [​IMG]


    This....not so much!!

    [​IMG]
     
  5. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,378
    Likes Received:
    2,697
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    [​IMG]
     
  6. ElrodKTPQ_89

    ElrodKTPQ_89 Legend

    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Location:
    Crossett, AR
    Is it possible that you could remove the OBD2 port and replace it with what you have in it's spot?
     
  7. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    On my 95 I put it on the in the ash tray first had scott cut me a small aluminum plate that would fit over it.. then I move it to the Glove box.. the black plastic on the back side.. You can push the tabs on the sides and the Glove box will come all the way down.. I cut a small hole and screwd it there.. all I had to do was open my glove box and plug in..
     
  8. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,378
    Likes Received:
    2,697
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    Possibly, but I don't think the cable is long enough to reach the driver's side. It could reach the passenger side of the "center stack" easily
     
  9. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,465
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I have to wonder how hard it would be to take the lock cylinder out of the glove box and mount it in that hole. When was the last time you actually locked your glove box? I forgot I had a long on it until I looked at the pic above. The cylinder should be long/deep enough to allow for the space. I am going to try and put mine there.
     
  10. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,378
    Likes Received:
    2,697
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    Hell, I have an extra glove box.. I'll see what's involved this weekend..
     
  11. ProKiller

    ProKiller Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    won't it reach to inside the ashtray? that would be my vote. get a switch panel in there and have it mounted in one of the holes. otherwise, i think the bottom of the glove box would work well.
     
  12. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,465
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    the cable I have is about 3ft long and would be lucky to make it to the consol at all. There is probably a replacement version that is longer somewhere but idunno

    The key hole should be pretty easy honestly as it should have the depth and a mounting hole to hold it in place. IT would be a little fun to see who actually noticed it and it would be super convenient for plugging it in and setting up the pc either on the pass seat. I am probably going QH myself and got the chip/cable.
     
  13. Ballistic

    Ballistic Active Member

    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon

    I didn't even know the glove box locked until a few months ago lol..
     
  14. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,465
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I remembered that it did when I saw the pic above otherwise since owning the car from new its never been locked.
     
  15. Addermk2

    Addermk2 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,505
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Mine is mounted to the center console. I drilled a hole and mounted the connector behind the plastic.
     
  16. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,465
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    Where at on the pasenge side? My cable might be able to make it that far but it would be tight.
     
  17. cameron57

    cameron57 Active Member

    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Put mine in glove box drill a round whole and you only see it when you open glove at back along lip

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk